Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Vintage sewing machine

Vintage sewing machine

I would like to buy a vintage sewing machine but what I want it for is free motion quilting. What type of machine would be a good one for this or are they best for piecing? Please help!!!

I'm not an expert, but I'm thinking they would not be the best choice for free motion quilting because of the distance between the needle and sewing machine. You'd probably want that area to be larger than the vintage one seems to be (but I'm not sure). Unless you plan on free motion quilting little things (placemats, wallhangings, etc.)....I'd say it probably wouldn't work for you. You will also want the feed dogs to be able to be lowered....not sure if the vintage ones can do that. I'm sure some of the vintage machine enthusiasts would be able to better answer your questions. Good luck!

Many vintage machines have feed dog drops, or some you can easily take them off entirely. I've never tried FMQ so I can't answer beyond that. Howdy from KS.
    "Sacrifices must be made." Otto Lilienthal