Wasn't the motor on my 99K!

Old 08-21-2015, 07:14 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 2,811
Default Wasn't the motor on my 99K!

Earlier this week I wrote about buying a 99K that didn't work...knew that when I bought it. People on the board suggested I find a good repair man to fix it. Well, the more I looked at the machine the more "something" bugged me...drove me crazy. Finally a light came on in my head and I started laughing. Yep, it was the bulb itself. Someone had replaced the bulb with a ROUND refrigerator bulb instead of the long machine bulb. Bought one for $1.50, inserted it and the machine ran for the first time. Guess the round bulb just wasn't making the connection. I have oiled the machine this morning and it sounds so smooth. Doing a happy dance!! Just have to find a name for her now.
lindaschipper is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 07:35 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Centralia, WA, USA
Posts: 4,890
Default

While I'm happy you got your machine running, something doesn't sound right. Your motor shouldn't have to depend on having a light bulb installed to run. I could be wrong. I certainly don't know everything there is to know about these machines. Maybe someone else here will chime in on what's going on.
Rodney
Rodney is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 08:08 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 200
Default

Originally Posted by Rodney View Post
While I'm happy you got your machine running, something doesn't sound right. Your motor shouldn't have to depend on having a light bulb installed to run. I could be wrong. I certainly don't know everything there is to know about these machines. Maybe someone else here will chime in on what's going on.
Rodney
+1. rodney, is right. there is no connection between light and motor. no light there should be motor. no motor there should be light.either way something is not right with your setup. motor and light assembly wirings are seperate. you can run either one seperately. meaning - i can turn on the light by itself and i can run the motor by itself. they are not dependent on each other.
singerguy is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 08:32 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Corpus Christi, Tx.
Posts: 16,105
Default

Must be a girl thing. I had a dryer that started acting up. Dh went through same motions as I did. Got it started. but as long as it is running with a new/correct light bulb. Don't knock it. Could be just moving it around checking this and that and bulb change and oil just jiggled everything into place.
tessagin is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 05:44 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

The 99s do have a round bulb.
miriam is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 06:02 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
manicmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,851
Default

Originally Posted by singerguy View Post
+1. rodney, is right. there is no connection between light and motor. no light there should be motor. no motor there should be light.either way something is not right with your setup. motor and light assembly wirings are seperate. you can run either one seperately. meaning - i can turn on the light by itself and i can run the motor by itself. they are not dependent on each other.
One possibility I thought is that the bulb could have been shorting the electrics and blowing a fuse each time it was switched on, although I'm sure Linda would have mentioned if this were the case.
Great you got it working, though.
manicmike is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 06:12 PM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

Originally Posted by manicmike View Post
One possibility I thought is that the bulb could have been shorting the electrics and blowing a fuse each time it was switched on, although I'm sure Linda would have mentioned if this were the case.
Great you got it working, though.
I didn't know 99s had fuses.
miriam is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 06:38 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Mrs. SewNSew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mendocino County CA
Posts: 1,976
Default

Originally Posted by miriam View Post
I didn't know 99s had fuses.
They don't. Something is wrong here either with the machine or the way it was described i what was wrong.
Mrs. SewNSew is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 09:29 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
manicmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,851
Default

Originally Posted by miriam View Post
I didn't know 99s had fuses.
Houses usually have them, Miriam.
manicmike is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 01:21 AM
  #10  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

Originally Posted by manicmike View Post
Houses usually have them, Miriam.
just making sure
miriam is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lindaschipper
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
24
06-09-2021 09:44 PM
Beautiful_Sound
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
10
10-30-2015 08:36 PM
cflykins
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
5
08-17-2014 03:59 AM
miriam
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
45
04-09-2014 11:52 PM
iadhikari
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
17
03-30-2014 06:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.