Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Would love opinions on Pfaff 260! >

Would love opinions on Pfaff 260!

Would love opinions on Pfaff 260!

Old 03-11-2012, 01:26 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 97
Default Would love opinions on Pfaff 260!

Well, the Viking 6460 I was looking at got sold this morning! Boohoo! So, it's time to find something else. I may have the opportunity to buy a Pfaff 260. I can't find near as much about this model as I could about the Viking. Anyone have thoughts / opinions on this model? What I can find is that it's a semi-industrial machine... looks like it has a super large harp which I love, and is all metal except the plastic knobs on the front. Apparently, it also does embroidery. It also looks pretty cool, too! Very 60's. The guy who may be selling it says it even has an auto needle threader! I'm liking the sound of that.

Anyway.... would really appreciate any insight you guys and gals have about this machine or older Pfaffs in general. I dunno... it's kinda sounding like a pretty good machine!

Thanks
Candace
lovequilts722 is offline  
Old 03-11-2012, 01:53 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Outer Space
Posts: 9,319
Default

The needle threaders on these vintage Pfaffs almost never work and are not really a bonus. I have a vintage Pfaff that is similar to this and honestly...it's not a favorite of mine. And the 260 lacks a freearm. I've actually turned it into a parts machine as the belt broke and the belts alone are about $70 each. The Pfaffs that came out after this had dual feed and are better quilting machines. If it's a good price...great. But, personally, I wouldn't pay more than say $50 for it. Just my opinion.
Candace is offline  
Old 03-11-2012, 02:57 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Mitch's mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,443
Default

Originally Posted by Candace View Post
The needle threaders on these vintage Pfaffs almost never work and are not really a bonus. I have a vintage Pfaff that is similar to this and honestly...it's not a favorite of mine. And the 260 lacks a freearm. I've actually turned it into a parts machine as the belt broke and the belts alone are about $70 each. The Pfaffs that came out after this had dual feed and are better quilting machines. If it's a good price...great. But, personally, I wouldn't pay more than say $50 for it. Just my opinion.
Exactly what Candace said.
Mitch's mom is offline  
Old 03-11-2012, 04:59 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Texas
Posts: 2,073
Default

Sorry you didn't get the Viking.
I have a Pfaff 130, which is slightly earlier than the 260, but shares the same attachments and other parts. It is my main machine. Mine is in a cabinet, and it is heavy duty. It sews fast. I haven't had any problems with it. I got it from a man who bought it at an auction. His wife wouldn't let him sew on her machine, so he found this one for himself. He used it to make denim quilts for his grandkids and for charity. I got it after he passed away and named it "Leslie" after him.

It is not a lightweight machine.

Dayle
Daylesewblessed is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 04:21 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Baileys Prairie, Texas
Posts: 294
Default

I have a pfaff 130 and my mother has a230 both have traveled around the world and continue to sew beautifully. They are certainly not featherweight machines, but they will sew just about anything from wedding dressing to drapery to ulphostery. the 230 was bought in Germany in 1952 and had its first wok done on it last Christmas. I bought the 130 off of Ebay a year ago, other than tension has been a problem after a rocker fell on it in our camper (my husband had put it on the floor in the living space) and the rocker which was not secured fell over on it. It sews ok but you have to fool with the tension. So far I have not been able to find a rteplacement part for it.
Nona is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
sewing4224
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
6
11-18-2014 04:46 PM
EvelynAnita
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
9
09-16-2012 07:48 AM
DawnFurlong
Main
13
01-12-2012 07:07 AM
JudyG
Main
7
09-02-2010 05:48 PM
Brazen
Pictures
32
12-23-2008 05:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter