Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Anyone have a Wireless Printer?

  1. #1
    Super Member Crafty1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,296
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's a Brother all in one type. I have been trying, huffing and puffing since 11 am today and I can't get it to work. I have reset, reboot, redid the network settings, it says Connected. So I go to the computer and it's says offline. I've done all the FAQ's on brothers website and still nothing. I've turned off the firewall on the computer and still nothing.

    What bugs me is it worked twice when my daughter had to print her homework last week and this past Sunday.

    What am I doing wrong??? Does anyone have one and has had problems with it? I apologize if I sound annoyed, I'm just so errrr with the printer. Thanks in advance for any advice and letting me vent.... :cry:

    Technology, it's my love hate relationship :?

  2. #2
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    3,890
    I have not had that problem for a while, but have had the experience. Did you go to "control panel", select "printers" & see if the printer you want to use indicates "online"? Make sure the printer you want to use is selected as "default" printer. Right clicking gives you the menu to change setting.

  3. #3
    Super Member Jazzmyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    3,937
    I have a HP wireless....and it has lost contact with the lap top...works Great on the desk top. What I need to do is uninstall it from the lap top and then reinstall it. It lost contact once before and that is what I did and it worked fine until I guess it had a hiccup and lost contact again.

    So with that said maybe uninstall the printer and then reinstall it..of course you will need the CD that came with the printer to reinstall it.

    I don't know if it will work for you but what do you have to loose at this point.

    I am by NO means a nerd...I do good just to turn them all on.

    Good Luck. :)

  4. #4
    QKO
    QKO is offline
    Super Member QKO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western Nevada
    Posts
    2,528
    You might try going to the "devices and printers" control panel and right-clicking on the printer icon in question -- then select "troubleshoot problems" to see if windows can figure it out. If all else fails, you can try deleting and re-installing the printer from the same screen.

  5. #5
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    I also have the HP but does your printer have where it will search for the wireless device? It sounds like it can't find the wireless connection. I also have a cannon that does this now and then and on it I have to reinstall it and then restart the computer so it recognizes it. If yours has the usb device try putting it in another usb port. I have one on my laptop that the wireless mouse and printer won't work in but everything else works on it.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Lacelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12,327
    Blog Entries
    19
    Mine plays up occasionally and I do the easiest thing first - turn the printer off, and then back on - that usually does it for me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    902
    Last time this happened to us, we turned the router on and off. That fixed it.

  8. #8
    Super Member Crafty1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,296
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks all for the suggestions! I'm downloading some update I guess from Brothers website. We'll see what happens, but I'm getting a "regular old school" USB connected printer for back up :wink: I don't need to print anymore today since I went to go to the PO, but my daughter need to print by Thurs. She does more printing in 8th grade than she ever did and school just started lol :)

  9. #9
    Super Member Crafty1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,296
    Blog Entries
    1
    On the computer, in settings it says printer ready, but the icon for the printer says offline and printer says connected. Geez you would think all these wireless signals thingy can talk to each other and come up with a solution lol.

  10. #10
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,763
    Blog Entries
    17
    I have a couple and i have to make sure i have it set to the right printer- that's the problem i have most :)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.