Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Is "free motion" possible on a Janome MC9500?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Slower Lower Delaware
    Posts
    36
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hello everyone!
    This is my first post. Been reading for a couple of months and learning A LOT!! I have the Janome MC9500, embroidery, sewing machine. Is it possible to do true free motion quilting on it? I can drop the feed dogs, but when I try to start sewing, it gives me an error message to put them up. I try to do it with the feed dogs up, but it is VERY HARD and a real struggle against the machine. Am I missing something that should be obvious or can this machine just not do it? Do I have justification for a new machine?? ;-)
    Thanks!
    Laura

  2. #2
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,342
    Welcome to the board from Southern California!!!

  3. #3
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,236
    Blog Entries
    2
    There may be a setting. Do you have a tools or settings menu? When I do FMQ on my emb/sewing Viking, I have to select a special setting. Hopefully another MC9500 owner will respond.

  4. #4
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    Hello, and welcome from Idaho! I don't know anything about your machine, but I would call a dealer and discuss it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tsnana2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    455
    Hi and welcome. I don't have that machine, but have you tried to set the stitch length at zero with the feed dogs up?

  6. #6
    Senior Member ploverwi2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    677
    If you google that Janome model, it says that it does come with a darning foot for free motion quilting, and it also comes with a dvd that shows all of that. Maybe you could watch your dvd, if you got one. When I bought my Janome machine, I got free lessons to learn how to use all of it's features. I surely hope you will get some help from someone. I have the 6600P machine, which I love dearly.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Slower Lower Delaware
    Posts
    36
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ploverwi2
    If you google that Janome model, it says that it does come with a darning foot for free motion quilting, and it also comes with a dvd that shows all of that. Maybe you could watch your dvd, if you got one. When I bought my Janome machine, I got free lessons to learn how to use all of it's features. I surely hope you will get some help from someone. I have the 6600P machine, which I love dearly.
    I have searched, but can't find a way to make it let ME have control. I haven't tried the 0 stitch length though. I had lessons when I bought the machine a long time ago, but they were geared toward the embroidery functions, which I love but want a much bigger hoop!

  8. #8
    Member Jessie 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Posts
    95
    Blog Entries
    8
    Yes you can, you just drop the feed dogs, and attach your darning foot,
    Jessie

  9. #9
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,533
    Blog Entries
    11
    Did you try to continue sewing even though it gave you an error message? Try lowering the feed dogs and turning the handwheel a slight bit to disengage them. That might help. Do you have a manual? I searched and have found several sites where people tested and reviewed this machine and according to their reports, had great success doing FMQ, with some problems with certain types of threads.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    187
    It should work fine. some people loosen top tension and buy the separate bobbin case that Janome makes for FM but that bobbin case is not necessary. Also most ppl use a top-stitch needle bc it has a larger eye so thread not as likely to get caught. i wonder if you are moving the quilt too slowly. you don't get fluid movement til you pick up speed some when doing FM. i have recently begun to use my start/stop button with speed control set on medium. it means i move quilt more slowly but still not slow.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.