Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Is "free motion" possible on a Janome MC9500?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Slower Lower Delaware
    Posts
    36
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hello everyone!
    This is my first post. Been reading for a couple of months and learning A LOT!! I have the Janome MC9500, embroidery, sewing machine. Is it possible to do true free motion quilting on it? I can drop the feed dogs, but when I try to start sewing, it gives me an error message to put them up. I try to do it with the feed dogs up, but it is VERY HARD and a real struggle against the machine. Am I missing something that should be obvious or can this machine just not do it? Do I have justification for a new machine?? ;-)
    Thanks!
    Laura

  2. #2
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,476
    Welcome to the board from Southern California!!!

  3. #3
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,158
    Blog Entries
    2
    There may be a setting. Do you have a tools or settings menu? When I do FMQ on my emb/sewing Viking, I have to select a special setting. Hopefully another MC9500 owner will respond.

  4. #4
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,449
    Blog Entries
    20
    Hello, and welcome from Idaho! I don't know anything about your machine, but I would call a dealer and discuss it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tsnana2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    455
    Hi and welcome. I don't have that machine, but have you tried to set the stitch length at zero with the feed dogs up?

  6. #6
    Senior Member ploverwi2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    761
    If you google that Janome model, it says that it does come with a darning foot for free motion quilting, and it also comes with a dvd that shows all of that. Maybe you could watch your dvd, if you got one. When I bought my Janome machine, I got free lessons to learn how to use all of it's features. I surely hope you will get some help from someone. I have the 6600P machine, which I love dearly.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Slower Lower Delaware
    Posts
    36
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ploverwi2
    If you google that Janome model, it says that it does come with a darning foot for free motion quilting, and it also comes with a dvd that shows all of that. Maybe you could watch your dvd, if you got one. When I bought my Janome machine, I got free lessons to learn how to use all of it's features. I surely hope you will get some help from someone. I have the 6600P machine, which I love dearly.
    I have searched, but can't find a way to make it let ME have control. I haven't tried the 0 stitch length though. I had lessons when I bought the machine a long time ago, but they were geared toward the embroidery functions, which I love but want a much bigger hoop!

  8. #8
    Member Jessie 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Posts
    95
    Blog Entries
    8
    Yes you can, you just drop the feed dogs, and attach your darning foot,
    Jessie

  9. #9
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,526
    Blog Entries
    11
    Did you try to continue sewing even though it gave you an error message? Try lowering the feed dogs and turning the handwheel a slight bit to disengage them. That might help. Do you have a manual? I searched and have found several sites where people tested and reviewed this machine and according to their reports, had great success doing FMQ, with some problems with certain types of threads.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    429
    It should work fine. some people loosen top tension and buy the separate bobbin case that Janome makes for FM but that bobbin case is not necessary. Also most ppl use a top-stitch needle bc it has a larger eye so thread not as likely to get caught. i wonder if you are moving the quilt too slowly. you don't get fluid movement til you pick up speed some when doing FM. i have recently begun to use my start/stop button with speed control set on medium. it means i move quilt more slowly but still not slow.

  11. #11
    Super Member twixbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In Hiding.
    Posts
    2,245
    Welcome from DE. :wink:

  12. #12
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,320
    Blog Entries
    53
    welcome from minnesota and happy quilting

  13. #13
    Super Member LyndaOH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    northwest Ohio
    Posts
    1,246
    Is it actually preventing you from sewing after you see the "error" message? Is it just a picture of the feed dogs that you are seeing? If it is, and it's like my Janomes, it's just reminding you to put the feed dogs down. If you've got them down and your stitch length is at zero then you should be good to go. Make sure to turn the handwheel to check the needle doesn't hit the foot before you speed ahead. This can happen if you were using zig zag or a decorative stitch before FMQing.

  14. #14
    Super Member LivelyLady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    2,717
    Quote Originally Posted by tsnana2000
    Hi and welcome. I don't have that machine, but have you tried to set the stitch length at zero with the feed dogs up?
    That's how I FMQ.

  15. #15
    Super Member wraez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Adelanto, CA
    Posts
    4,054
    I have a Janome6500 and it also gives me a warning when I put down my feed dogs but after the second or third time it allows me to FMQ. One time it wouldn't let me do it at all and then I saw that I had my machine in the wrong mode and on a decorative stitch.

    So be sure you have your settings accurate before you try it. I'm not familiar with the MC9500 but if it sews straight stitches and zig zag, and your feed dogs go down, you should be able to FMQ.

  16. #16
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,838
    I have the Janome 9000, so the model right before yours and I free motion a lot with it! You need to select the free motion icon and it should drop your feed dogs automatically. You should have a manual that makes it clear.

  17. #17
    Super Member Murphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    8,899
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi and welcome to the board from Iowa.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    235
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Janome 6500 and when I put the feed dogs down it will give me the message not as an error but shows the feed dogs down. I thought it was messed up the first time it ever did it but then I was told that when you drop the feed dogs it will give you the message again so that you are aware that you are in that mode as a reminder. I then hit the foot pedal lightly once and it clears the message and it is ready to go. Might try that or call your dealer and ask him as this is one of the new machines, but if you can drop your feed dogs you should be able to fm. Hope this made sense as this morning is a in another world day.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    13
    Hello-entirely possible to fmq on that machine! I have a mc9700 and also get the message to put feeddogs back down....just hit the arrow that is displayed on the screen, and the message goes away....don't forget to use your quilting foot, and away you go....oh, and also another thing I discovered (perhaps others knew this, but I'm slow!) is to 'unplug' your machine for the foot control so that you have to start quilting by pressing your 'start' button, as if you were going to embroider....for me, this completely removed the issue of having to use my foot pedal to control the speed of the machine, while my hands were moving the fabric around....it's like patting your tummy with one hand and patting your head with the other...if you only have to do one of those things the one you are left doing surely will be better! I hope I have made this plain to unerstand......good luck, and let us know how you make out.....

  20. #20
    Senior Member sept97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    576
    Look on youtube, there's tons of info there

  21. #21
    Junior Member overdew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Northeast TX
    Posts
    275
    I have the 9500 and it is a fantastic machine. I do use it for fmq with the needle in the left position like it is for embroidery. I also adjusted my plastic darning foot like Leah Day says, so I could see the stitches better. I get better stitches with feed dogs up, though like you, I dislike doing this. My manual makes no mention of fmq, but there is an auto darning stitch that works very well. Wish I could help more. PM me if I can.

  22. #22
    Super Member kiffie2413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,820
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi and welcome from Texas! I would also think it would be possible...especially since it says your machine comes with the darning/free motion foot...good luck to you!
    Kif

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NE Pa.
    Posts
    1,694
    Select the quilting mode and then go to Free motion quilting. I have the 9000 and the 10001 with both these features so I am sure you must have them.

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lexington ky
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by BLTrip
    Hello everyone!
    This is my first post. Been reading for a couple of months and learning A LOT!! I have the Janome MC9500, embroidery, sewing machine. Is it possible to do true free motion quilting on it? I can drop the feed dogs, but when I try to start sewing, it gives me an error message to put them up. I try to do it with the feed dogs up, but it is VERY HARD and a real struggle against the machine. Am I missing something that should be obvious or can this machine just not do it? Do I have justification for a new machine?? ;-)
    Thanks!
    Laura
    I have a Janome 9500 and do a lot of free motion, when it says
    raise the feed dogs, just keeping going the message will disappear. Hope it works for you.

  25. #25
    Super Member janetter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Stockton, NJ
    Posts
    1,336
    Blog Entries
    1
    I own a 9500 also and just finshed a baby quilt with FMQ I wrote down setting to use Largest stitch,feed dogs UP and tension at 2 using my darning foot. Let me know if you use the embroidery stitches still looking for the proper card to use my previos library of designs.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.