Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can you machine quilt a wool quilt top or does it have to be hand quilted? >

Can you machine quilt a wool quilt top or does it have to be hand quilted?

Can you machine quilt a wool quilt top or does it have to be hand quilted?

Old 09-03-2010, 09:57 PM

I have a wool quilt top and was wondering if anyone here has ever machine quilted a wool quilt top. Please let me know if this is okay or just a real no no. Is there anything special that you have to do if you machine quilt it? Thanks for the info as you can tell I am fairly new to quilting.
Old 09-03-2010, 10:01 PM

This is a very good question! I've been quilting for 20 years and am contemplating my first wool quilt.
Old 09-03-2010, 11:10 PM
Power Poster

I did some googling. Things are things that I read, I have no experience with any of these. What I learned was:
1. You can hand quilt, but it is heavy and may be much easier to machine quilt
2. It is very heavy
3. Some people use sweaters and make felted wool
4. Fulled wool is really good, but extremely expensive and in limited colors
5. Antique wool quilts often had flannel backing
6. Many people use wool applique's on Flannel fabrics
Old 09-04-2010, 12:40 AM
Power Poster

I've machined a wool quilt. I made a crazy one, and used a good selection of my embroidery stitches on my machine, it coped with them well, so you don't have to stick to straight stitches if you don't want too. (I have a Bernina - not sure how other makes would handle it).
Old 09-04-2010, 02:32 AM
Power Poster

i did machine quilt my wool "backyard Gathering" quilt, black hand appliqued/queen size. i used the black heirloom Hobbs batting, it was wonderful to quilt! as wonderful as it is to applique with wool; I love working with wool! i machine piece, embroider, applique and quilt wools all the time. (long-arm) if using a regular machine i would think you would definitly need a walking foot, because of the bulk.
Old 09-04-2010, 02:43 AM
Power Poster