Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Confused... Frame Quilting, need advice >

Confused... Frame Quilting, need advice

Confused... Frame Quilting, need advice

Old 06-20-2014, 02:37 PM

Default Confused... Frame Quilting, need advice

Hi Everyone,

Bear with me a little? I'm brand new to quilting on a frame (haven't even started yet... Waiting for my machine to arrive on Monday. But what I lack in experience I *totally* make up for in enthusiasm! Ha!)

Some of you read my story about my quilting frame in my intro-- suffice to say for now, that after storing it for 5 or so years, I now have it set up in my sewing room. I have a New Joy Gold Standard that someone attached some Handi Handles to, instead of leaving the stock handle. I don't remember which model they are off the top of my head, but I know that they don't fit with the Janome 1600P-QC I'm waiting on. They're for a Bernina. My husband said he would modify the cord to fit the Janome, and from what I've read, that should work? The rest of the frame was still in its packaging and has never been used. I don't know the history on the handles.

And another question: I'm really thinking of purchasing a stitch regulator. I hear from some people that they love theirs, others not so much. I think I would like having one. Do I still need speed control if I end up with a stitch regulator?

Thanks for all advice, I really would appreciate hearing your thoughts.
Old 06-20-2014, 05:30 PM
Power Poster

I love having a stitch regulator. However many quilters prefer to quilt without one. And not all stitch regulators are created equal. I'm not at all familiar with what's available for a DSM on a frame. I think it would be best to try your machine without a stitch regulator first. Decide whether the frame and machine work well together before investing in more equipment.
Old 06-20-2014, 08:01 PM