Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
crushed velvet? >

crushed velvet?

crushed velvet?

Old 09-02-2013, 03:12 PM

Default crushed velvet?

Hi I'm new to quilting so I'm gonna sound stupid, but I've been looking for a quilt that has velvet and lace in it and I found it. It had no patterns to the picture, but like I do for sewing cloths I would usually "wing it" but I'm scared of quilting and wasting money. So what I wanna ask is what kind of stabilizer should I use on the crushed velvet. I know that stuff is so stretchy but this is what was in the picture. I'm just not sure if the stabilizer for cloths making should be the same
Old 09-02-2013, 03:59 PM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. It depend on what kind of crushed velvet it is. You can iron a fusible stabilizer to the back of the crushed velvet if it can take the heat of the iron. You can also surround a crushed velvet square with woven fabrics on all sides, to help stabilize the square. Many Crazy quilts from the Victorian age used velvets, satins, lace, taffeta and embroidery.
Old 09-02-2013, 04:08 PM

I do alot of crazy quilting and have used crushed velvet. Usually when doing CQ. your pieces are fairly small, and you always have a foundation piece of fabric, that you are attaching your velvets, satins and etc. to. Google crazy Quilting and you will see alot of beautiful things.
Old 09-03-2013, 10:39 AM
Power Poster

Welcome! I agree with Tartan, an iron on stabilizer would work well. Crushed velvet is often on a knit backing (panne velvet) and almost always a synthetic. I would look for a lightweight non woven iron on. If you can get to a JoAnn's, read the labels and look for something that will work with a cooler temp iron. The same stuff that you would use for garment construction will work.
Old 09-03-2013, 12:28 PM

Thanks ladies. I feel more comfortable with starting my 1st quilt
Old 09-03-2013, 04:33 PM