Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Help with the Janome 6600, tension

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,665
    OK, I'm feeling ridiculous. I cannot find my owners manual to my new 6600P. I've been twisting knobs and I cannot get my tension right.....the stitches are awful loopy.

    I know that one tension knob is on the front where you thread the machine...I assume that is the tension for the top thread. I do not know how to adjust the tension on the bobbin thread.....and I don't have any clue where, in general, I should be setting the tension. Right now I am just trying to sew blocks together so no huge problems yet, other than the loopiness...

    Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Member kwhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North East USA
    Posts
    5,083
    Stop turning knobs. First rethread it. Make sure the thread is between the tention plates behind the knob. Are they loopy on top or on bottom? My Janome dealer told me he would take my machine back if I messed with the bobbin tention. Make sure the bobbin is inserted correctly.
    you are useing a Janome bobbin right? Singer bobbins will screw it all up. Ask me how I know.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,665
    Ok, I'm rethreading it now...........and I'm using the bobbins the dealer gave me, so surely they are the correct ones, right??? It is loopy on both the top and the bottom, but not consistently, every few stitches or so.

  4. #4
    Quiltsbybarb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SW Wisconsin
    Posts
    156
    I had a problem once and they had me loosen my tension all the way, as loose as you could get it. Then take a piece of heavy thread and run it through the tension wheel on the inside of the machine. You can do that without taking anything apart. Just hold the ends of the heavy thread and pull back and forth. There may be lint or thread lodged in there and you need to get it out.

    Then put your pressure foot in the down position and turn your tension wheel to about 4. Rethread both the machine and bobbin and try again.

    Hope this helps.

    Barb

  5. #5
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,897
    Does this help? And by all means, stop turning knobs.

    Ignore my PM if this will suffice.

    Let me know if you need page 2 resent.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    fullerton ca
    Posts
    681
    CHECK THE FLOW OF THREAD IN THE BOBIN IF ITS TOO LOSE YOU CAN ADJ I HAVE THE MAMUAL IF YOU NEED IT I CAN COPY AND SEND

  7. #7
    k3n
    k3n is offline
    Power Poster k3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    10,714
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you've permanently lost your manual rather than temporarily misplaced it, you can download it for free if you join this Janome user group (also free!)

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Janome6500

    Good luck! :-D

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    8
    I too am having trouble with the tension on my Janome. I am going to try the heavy thread to clean out any lint before I take it in. But my problem could also be the bobbin. I got some extras that are not Janome brand. They're a universal band??? I just finished a quilt top so I am just playing with machine wuilting. Need a break before charging onto the next quilt project ( a spring wall hanging )

  9. #9
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,821
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by BKinCO
    Ok, I'm rethreading it now...........and I'm using the bobbins the dealer gave me, so surely they are the correct ones, right??? It is loopy on both the top and the bottom, but not consistently, every few stitches or so.
    skipping stitches, which is the problem you described, is most often caused by a dull needle, the wrong size needle, or by an error somewhere in the way it's threaded.

    double-check to make sure it's threaded correctly on top.

    set your tension back to 4, which is the factory setting.
    double-check to make sure your bobbin is dropped with the thread pulling out counter-clockwise (thread pulls from top of bobbin and heads to the left.)

    hit the C button to reset your stitch width and length to the factory presets.

    change the needle. (use an 11 or smaller for piecing if you have one.) use either a needle from the pack that came with the machine or a shmetz brand. (there are other brands that work, i'm sure, but my janomes love shmetz and they are reasonably priced so i've never bothered to try any others.)

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,665
    THANK YOU ALL for your replies. I think I have it back working properly now :) I'm not sure what the exact problem was, I just unthreaded everything and started all over and it seems to be correct now.

    And, I promise, I won't twist any more knobs :)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.