Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: HQ sweet 16 --my review!

  1. #1
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    686

    Wink HQ sweet 16 --my review!

    Well I finally got the sweet 16 from ups man today. Ive been playing on it all day thought I'd let u all kno my personal reviews so far 4 all of u who are thinking of purchasing one. First off the table is very heavy and u really need two pple to maneuver. The midarm slides right in very easily & the actual set up is pretty fool proof. The threading wasn't bad at all & I've got that down pat. The computer software is touch screen & very straight forward u don't need a lot of computer lingo to work your way around it I love the fact that it has diagnostic for trouble shooting too bad none for the tension lol!! I did have to mess with a little bit with the tension but I'm sure some of u pros can get it faster than me! Overall I'm really happy with I'm not 100 percent happy with the table the legs do not want to lock in place easily & I had a near disaster.. But all is well. I do think I will stick with the heavier king tut thread it sewed better to me than the silk brand they sent with it. I must say I'm a complete novice to Fmq but in just an hour I was making circles with it so I'm soo excited about the possibilities !!
    ELIZAJANE

  2. #2
    Super Member quiltjoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,569
    Congratulations on your new purchase! Hope it gives you many hours of enjoyment and saves you on having your quilts sent out! God bless...

  3. #3
    Senior Member sylviak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southern Oklahoma
    Posts
    954
    Congratulations on your new "baby"! Have you named "him" or "her" yet? I'm sure you will really fall in love with it once you get used to it. All that extra throat space will make it easier for you to quilt. Looking forward to seeing your work. Make some "practice" pieces and just try a little of everything.

  4. #4
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,641
    Woohoo! Just last weekend I tried it out at a sewing store and really liked it. Have fun!
    Anna Quilts

  5. #5
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    32,923
    Blog Entries
    15
    thanks for the review. sounds like it will work out very well for you. congrats
    Nancy in western NY

  6. #6
    Super Member SuzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,245
    Enjoy!!
    Suzy

  7. #7
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    542
    I have one and I agree with what you said. I don't worry about the table because I don't move it and I had help setting it up so it was not a problem at all. It does like King Tut and after spending quite some time playing with cheaper thread I decided it wasn't worth my time so went directly to King Tut and Superbob bobbins. It's all good. I just love mine. Just wish I had more time to use it. Enjoy your new sweet 16.

  8. #8
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by qwkslver View Post
    I have one and I agree with what you said. I don't worry about the table because I don't move it and I had help setting it up so it was not a problem at all. It does like King Tut and after spending quite some time playing with cheaper thread I decided it wasn't worth my time so went directly to King Tut and Superbob bobbins. It's all good. I just love mine. Just wish I had more time to use it. Enjoy your new sweet 16.
    Thx 4 mentioning super bob bobbins I will keep with those.. Don't want to rock the boat lol
    ELIZAJANE

  9. #9
    Super Member Caroline S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Spanaway, Washington
    Posts
    3,829
    Thanks for your review. I am contemplating ordering a HQ Sweet 16. Your experiences with the machine may help me make the final decision. May I ask why you decided on the HQ Sweet 16? My main reason for considering it is that I do not have room for a long arm and I can't stand on my feet for long periods of time.
    Sweet Caroline

  10. #10
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by Caroline S View Post
    Thanks for your review. I am contemplating ordering a HQ Sweet 16. Your experiences with the machine may help me make the final decision. May I ask why you decided on the HQ Sweet 16? My main reason for considering it is that I do not have room for a long arm and I can't stand on my feet for long periods of time.
    I struggled with the decision of a longarm actually & went bk & forth a lot but I can honestly say I'm really happy with the sweet 16. The standing with the longarm wouldn't have bothered me & I had the room but the longarm brand I could afford had very mixed reviews & I wasn't willing to take that chance & I know handiquilter brand is amazing! And their customer support as well. I think u would really like it! I ordered mine from sewingmachinesplus.com & did the no interest payments over 48 months so it's affordable & they did free shipping & even threw in a 2000 yd king tut thread. I ordered the optional side tables as well & it makes the table 6 ft. God Bless!
    ELIZAJANE

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.