Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Instrustions for using thangles

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    358
    Does any of you have experince using thangles?. Can you please give me instrutions on how to use thangles?

    Thanks,
    Doris



  2. #2
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,811
    Blog Entries
    3
    they come with pre-marked line to show you where to sew and where to cut. i make my own, so have never bought any, but i'm sure there will be detailed instructions in the package. they must be easy to use or they wouldn't sell as well as they do.

  3. #3
    Senior Member redrummy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Mount Vernon, Oh
    Posts
    707
    what are thangles?
    i never heard of that.
    Deb

  4. #4
    community benefactor ShellyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    933
    Me too :-) What's a thangle :shock:

  5. #5
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,811
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thangles is the brand name of a pattern for making half square triangles. they're papers with pre-printed sewing and cutting lines. they come in a few different sizes. i think you also have a choice between sheets and rolls. you put the two fabrics right-sides together, lay the thangles on top, sew on the sewing lines, cut on the cutting lines, tear away the paper, press and voila!!! half square triangles.

    you get gazillions in each package. last time i looked the price was reasonable. i make my own because it's easy; it might be less expensive, but i've never done the math to confirm that. but i don't have to wait for shipments; and i can make them any size my little heart desires with just a few keystrokes and mouse clicks.

  6. #6
    community benefactor ShellyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    933
    Thanks Patrice :-) , I think I sort of get the idea, a bit like when you draw the sewing and cutting lines on squares of fabric but done on paper instead. I have EQ 5 do you think I would be able to do the same thing as you do using that prog?

  7. #7
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,811
    Blog Entries
    3
    i suppose you could draw it out as a fake quilting motif. you'd have to get your grids and snaps calculated correctly. remember that 7/8ths of an inch is .875 inches.

    darnit! now i'll have to try it myself. just what i needed. another idea. i wish you guys would quit educating and inspiring me! it makes my life so much more interesting! and makes my "someday" list so much longer!
    :shock: :lol:

  8. #8
    community benefactor ShellyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    933
    :lol: you're welcome :mrgreen: So, (just tell me if I'm being too nosy here) what program do you use to draw half square triangles with just a few strokes on the key board and a few clicks with the mouse :lol:

    Am still on a steep learning curve with EQ5, it keeps making fatal errors and shuting down :shock: I swear it's EQ5 and not me :lol: I think I might be asking it to do things it,s not designed to do, I'm alergic to manuals :lol:

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oh.
    Posts
    799
    I don't like Thangles. I cannot sew a straight line. Sorry, I didn't want you to know how imperfect I am!

    I use the method of making mine from 2 large square, lining up the edges and having them right sides together, then marking an X and then a + on the back side of one of the 2 pieces. Say..make an 9 inch square. After marking, sew on either side of the X lines a scant 1/4 seam. When 4 seams are sewn, When finished all sewing, cut apart on both the X and the + lines. You will have 8 sets of identical half square triangles. You will have to unfold, press, then square up the blocks. Here is the link for visual reference.


    http://www.equilters.com/library/blocks/HalfSqTriangles.html

    I learned this method of E. Burns back about 6 or 7 years ago. It is the most accurate way I have found to deal with triangles. I have made 3 quilt tops with these (each one in a different size) and found I got to like the method very well.

    You may not like this method, but it works best for me.

    June in Cincinnati

  10. #10
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,811
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by ShellyQ
    :lol: you're welcome :mrgreen: So, (just tell me if I'm being too nosy here) what program do you use to draw half square triangles with just a few strokes on the key board and a few clicks with the mouse :lol:
    that isn't at all nosey. now ... asking me what color my underwear is when i'm drawing them ... THAT would be nosey. :wink:
    :lol:
    i use corel draw to make my HST templates. it's just as easy in powerpoint, and would be easy using any program that lets you draw basic shapes to create vector graphics and has a snap-to-grid feature. i've never tried a paint-type program to do it. i don't know whether it would be easy or difficult.

    in fact, i'm having to go back to powerpoint to make them. corel draw doesn't work perfectly in a vista environment. not even the newest version. the grid and snap are all out of whack.

    Quote Originally Posted by ShellyQ
    Am still on a steep learning curve with EQ5, it keeps making fatal errors and shuting down :shock: I swear it's EQ5 and not me :lol: I think I might be asking it to do things it,s not designed to do, I'm alergic to manuals :lol:
    that isn't EQ5 or you. that's your computer. it could be a lot of things, but is most likely a lack of RAM (Random Access Memory). To find out how much memory you have, right-click on the "My Computer" icon and select "Properties". The information shown will include the speed of your processor and the amount of RAM, stated in MB. Anything over 1,000 MB is good. Anything under 512MB is not. In between is ... ok i guess, but you should get more.

    1. Go through your computer and delete any DATA files you don't need. (don't delete anything you didn't create yourself.)
    2. Run Disk Cleanup (Start; Programs; Accessories; System Tools; Disk Cleanup)
    3. Defragment your hard drive Start; Programs; Accessories; System Tools; Defragment)

    I put the step-by-step instructions so folks who have never done that before will also know how. it's something everybody should do to their computer at least once a month.

    if you decide to get more memory, remember that RAM does not refer to the size of your hard drive. RAM is stored on strips of chips called SIMMS, and plugged into your mother board. if you don't know what kind to buy, you definitely want to consult a technician.

    in the meantime, close all your other programs whenever you're working in EQ. if you still have problems, try uninstalling it, doing the disk-clean/defrag thing again, restarting the computer, and reinstalling EQ.

    clear as mud?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.