Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 12 1 2 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 118

Thread: Need opinions, please!

  1. #1
    Senior Member Wholeheart Mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    444

    Need opinions, please!

    My 10 year-old daughter is making this "Chop and Sew" quilt for the county fair, using Mary Engelbreit fabric. I still consider myself a novice quilter, and I am having difficulty helping her decide what to do from here.

    Should she just sew all twelve blocks together, crazy quilt style, with no sashing, and then add a border or two? (see photo one of all 12 blocks together)

    Should she add sashing? Red, blue, black or yellow? (see photos).

    Part of me is feeling like the yellow is popping out too much.... I don't want to add a sashing that would make it pop even more. We will be adding a border, but I just don't know if we should sash it or not.

    Any and all opinions are greatly appreciated!

    p.s. sorry for the wrinkly background fabric and messy sewing room in the photos :0)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails img_5786.jpg   img_5788.jpg   img_5790.jpg   img_5794.jpg   img_5795.jpg  

    Last edited by Wholeheart Mom; 11-11-2011 at 02:10 PM. Reason: typos!!
    I am a homeschool mom to four little ladies, a prayerful wonderer and marveller, a spirit-filled dancer, a meek and mighty warrior, and a friend to many small creatures. Nice to meet you!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Rylandon3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Polo, IL
    Posts
    318
    Love the sashing ...not the yellow as much though...good luck...it looks very nice to me!

  3. #3
    Super Member SuziC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,711
    I Love the Black sashing. It gives such a great effect.
    SUZI C Dream...Explore....Experience

  4. #4
    Senior Member Liz aka Helen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Alliance, NE 69301
    Posts
    516
    Blog Entries
    1
    Red or black would be my choice

  5. #5
    Super Member Arleners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Stony Brook, NY
    Posts
    1,214
    Nice job on the blocks. I think sashing shows off the angles. Otherwise, they don't stand out. I personally like the red sashing best, the black comes in second.

    Good luck with home schooling. That is so cool.
    Arlene

  6. #6
    Super Member RobertaMarie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    2,059
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like it laid out with no sashing! Looks great, like confetti. I would do it that way with a border of her choice to hold it together, but then, let her decide which looks better. The old rule applies: "it's your quilt, so make it they way you like it"..... it is pretty whichever way it is done. Hope you win a ribbon on it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member yayaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    No San Diego County, California
    Posts
    954
    I like the blocks without sashing. I've made several of these quilts; so fun.
    Karen, aka yayaquilts (yaya-Greek for grandma to 5 beautiful granbabies, 2 girls & 3 boys)
    http://kpscarlettandchief.blogspot.com
    "You have enough quilts made when your soul is filled, your creativity satisfied and the fingers just won't work anymore."

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Southern Illinois
    Posts
    201
    Quote Originally Posted by Liz aka Helen View Post
    Red or black would be my choice
    These would be my choices as well.
    Angie

  9. #9
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,721
    Blog Entries
    31
    I really like her quilt and I also like it best without any sashing but if she is going to add them, I like the red or black.
    She is doing a great job and I am also a ME fan!
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  10. #10
    Super Member Pinkiris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NE Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,062
    Blog Entries
    2
    It's a great looking quilt! I like either the red or the black sashing, but as RobertaMarie said, it's your daughter's quilt and she should make the final decision. Please let us know what she decides to go with.

    Good luck in the fair!

    Sue

Page 1 of 12 1 2 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.