Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: online order troubles

  1. #1
    Super Member JanTx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,471
    I know - another of THOSE posts... I just want to be fair - between the vendor and me as well as between me and the vendor.

    Thanks to the February shop hop I found a site that had 5 one-yard bundles on an awesome sale. I ordered 4 of them and on my recommendation a friend also ordered 4.

    Her order arrived with one of the bundles wrong. She had ordered one with some purples to make a quilt for a niece. Another bundle was for that girl's sister - in pinks. The pink bundle did arrive. (so it mattered WHICH bundle was ordered)

    My order arrived short one bundle - it was out of stock. My credit card had been charged for 4 bundles, but only three arrived.

    I emailed the vendor and asked for my missing bundle to be replaced with the one my friend had ordered. Then I'd just trade with her and we'd both be happy. The vendor replied quickly - no communication problems there.

    Fast forward a few days and my missing bundle arrived, but ... it wasn't the one I'd asked for.

    So I emailed again and got a prompt reply that she would call me to work this out. That was a week ago and I've heard nothing - by email or phone.

    Now what? A friendly reminder by email? Just accept what we got and get something else for the niece's quilt? Keep waiting? It's been about 4 weeks since I placed the original order.

  2. #2
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    1,738
    I'd say a friendly reminder by email is in order. I think you are being fair, and the vendor initially has been responsive. You are entitled to get what you ordered and paid for...

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,147
    I like to call people....but any form of friendly reminder would be a must :)

  4. #4
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perris, CA
    Posts
    1,872
    That must me frustrating. Sorry you had to go through this but it is not right. I believe that excellent service is what keeps a business running. You as a customer care about getting what you paid for and the business should only care about providing you with what you paid for so no i think you should call them to see what is going on and ask for a supervisor if the employee is not authorised to solve issues. They need to know how their business is running because it could be an employees lack of interest in his/her job and that's not fair to the owners...I hope i cleared my point here, and sorry if it was misunderstood in any way....

  5. #5
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    3,657
    if you have a number call, be nice but be firm, remember, you can never UNSAY anything but don't let anybody take advantage of you either.

  6. #6
    Super Member JanTx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,471
    What makes this harder is ... when I first wrote to let her know about our troubles she thanked me for being so nice... I LIKE to be nice... it should be my middle name! :) I also agree that you can't UNSAY - I called that "unringing the bell" when my kids were at home.

    I get the feeling this is a one person shop. Could be wrong, of course.

    I think I'll send another friendly reminder by email. If that doesn't do the trick then I'll try to give her a call.

    Thanks for both the support and the advice. I don't want to make too big a deal about my card being charged for merchandise that the vendor knew she wasn't sending. Perhaps she charged the card and then found the item to be out of stock? Too busy to go back and fix it?

  7. #7
    np3
    np3 is offline
    Power Poster np3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    17,266
    Blog Entries
    7
    I think a lot of online stores have an automatic charge. She might need to do a refund instead of changing the original charge. Just thinking....

    She may be operating out of her home, be gone for a few days, bad weather.

    A friendly call or another email never hurts. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Super Member JanTx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,471
    When I wrote the second time she replied that she was at a quilt retreat and would be back on Monday - that was this past Monday. I expected a call Monday night - Tuesday, maybe Wednesday, but am giving up now... There's a lot of flu around here - lots of things could have happened.

    Perhaps her kids are helping fill the orders? I'm not teasing - that could be a possibility. Who knows?

    She has products I like and made some attempts at good communication. I'll just have to see how things play out. It wouldn't bother me as much if it weren't my friend who is messed up - on my recommendation. I've offered her any of mine - but none have any purple.

  9. #9
    Super Member jljack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Central CA - But otherwise, NOTW
    Posts
    8,068
    Blog Entries
    9
    If she's having a huge sale she might be over her head in calls and e-mails. I usually give people the benefit of the doubt, prefering to think they just made an error instead of just not paying attention or not caring.

    Another e-mail first, then a phone call. You're a very nice and patient person!! :-)

  10. #10
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,478
    Quote Originally Posted by jljack
    If she's having a huge sale she might be over her head in calls and e-mails. I usually give people the benefit of the doubt, prefering to think they just made an error instead of just not paying attention or not caring.

    Another e-mail first, then a phone call. You're a very nice and patient person!! :-)
    I completely agree with this! :thumbup:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.