Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Opinions on Handi Quilter 16?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    the mountains
    Posts
    54

    Opinions on Handi Quilter 16?

    I'm looking on line at the Handi Quilter 16. I haven't tried one in person. I'd sure appreciate hearing from folks who have one. I'm wondering if the sit down model is a good choice. Thanks so much.
    SheSews (when she can)

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,358
    Blog Entries
    20
    I don't know about the sit down model, but the HQ 16 is a great machine. HQ is also awesome with their customer support.
    Sadiemae

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    the mountains
    Posts
    54
    Appreciate your comments.
    SheSews (when she can)

  4. #4
    Super Member SuzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,245
    I would suggest joining the yahoo group for the HQ sitdown and be sure to look at the pics. There is one member who does incredible thread painting with his machine. I'm a wannabe so I have no suggestions for you :-)

    Suzy

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    708
    I had the HQ16 stand-up model and loved it so much I upgraded to the HQ18 Avante!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sit down would be great if you have less space available or cannot stand for long periods of time. HQ has great support--ask me how I kinow. I have investged in the prostitcher for mine and love it. I also do free motion but there are great patterns out there too. A local dealer is a great bonus but I get my help directly from HQ via the phone.

  6. #6
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    8,887
    it is best to visit shows & dealers & try out (test drive) as many different machines you can get your hands on before choosing one- there are many to choose from and just like driving a car they are a large expense-investment- you want to get the one that (fits you) best- don't just buy one you read about on line-
    you need to take into account service, tech support, set up, delivery, lots of things- it is best to find ones in person and try them out- most quilt shows have one or more set up for you to try out-dealers usually have demo ones set up-i've had an hq-16 for 8 years- i have a good relationship with my machine- i have a friend who had one- for 3 years- she managed to quilt 2 quilts on it in that 3 years- and was always upset-frustrated- unhappy with it--right up until she sold it- and lost about $5000 in the process....
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  7. #7
    Super Member joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    7,790
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's so good to see this thread and get all the opinions from owners. I will be attending a quilt show this weekend and HQ is what I'm interested in.
    Joyce

  8. #8
    Senior Member QuiltNama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Duluth/ Superior, WI
    Posts
    794
    I have the HQ16 stand up model and love it. Great customer service and a very easy machine to use.

  9. #9
    Super Member AliKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,555
    I have the regular HQ16 that I upgraded to include the ProStitcher and stuff. I love it.

    I remember seeing the HQ Sweet 16 [sit down] years ago and someone had made a cradle for the quilt, so that it was somewhat suspended over the sitdown HQ and the the quilt didn't have any drag. It was a really neat set up and if I hadn't had my heart set on the HQ16 and gotten a good price on a used one, I would have considered it. I just e-mailed the person who is my source for this to see if it is still being made or if there is a pattern for it. If you PM me in a few days, I can let you know more.

    ali
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

  10. #10
    Super Member patski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    1,469
    Blog Entries
    6
    Love it, I sold my long arm(took up so much space & my legs ached after standing for hours) I have the 16 and is a dream, just oil it and go go go. It is easy to learn and does a wonderful job.I haveeven done a kingsize quilt on it!
    Patski
    always learning

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.