Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: Opinions on newer fabric designs

  1. #21
    Senior Member liont's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    476
    I think I am the opposite. I started with Kaffe Fasset's fabrics. My first quilt book is his Glorious Patchwork, followed by Passionate Patchwork. I am intrigued and drawn in by his style of putting together seemingly clashing colors and making them dance.

    I started to quilt.
    Now 10 odd years later, I am still quilting. I've explored "retrospectively" and enjoy the beauty of vintage designs. I am still working on and off on my GFG.

    I buy whatever catches my eyes and (important!) whatever fits my budget.

    I guess doing things in reverse does have its advantage - I am less conventional and more willing to give things my own twist.

  2. #22
    Super Member joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8,373
    Blog Entries
    1
    I've seen a lot of lines that I know I will never buy and are in no way my style or color. But that being said that's what I expect. I have been surprised that I'm now interested in some designers that I have not cared for in the past.
    Joyce

  3. #23
    Super Member fayzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Destin, Fl
    Posts
    1,825
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Thankfully there are a multitude of online stores that sell everything from Civil
    War prints to the newer modern prints. I am loving the newer modern prints and patterns and then again I love other prints as well. I buy what I love and love what I buy. BTW, I will be 70 in January. Guess I'm a modern chick after all. LOL

  4. #24
    Super Member Teacup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    2,083
    I appreciate everyone's respectful replies, allowing room for lots of opinions.

    I agree that some color combintations that are trendy probably won't age well, and soon the quilt will jump out as being of a very particular time period (like those avocado appliances!). But I do like some of the modern quilt movement and aesthetic...it has grown on me. And I love that it is drawing in more people to quiltling who previously would not have been interested in working with the very traditional patterns/prints. I still love traditional quilts best, but am learning to appreciate the others. I find it funny to see some designs that to me look like the crazy prints from my childhood and high school years in the 60s and 70s being reinterpreted today. Even though some things aren't for me (give me burgundy and green over turquoise/lime/orange Christmas fabrics), I can smile and enjoy what people create with them. I especially like seeing what a traditional pattern looks like when done in totally different fabrics. I may not want to make it, may not want to put it in my home, but it's interesting to see what others do to give things a different spin. I'm glad there's room for all of us.

  5. #25
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,205
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am just thankful that I have a large stash so if I don't like it I don't have to buy it I am turning more to the reproductions and some of the old patterns more fun that way I like to take my time

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    306
    I am on the Quilt 2014 committee in my guild. We do a quilt every year and raffle it off. We chose almost modern fabric (lots of different lines) but instead of pairing it with white we chose a beige. I am making a tool carrier for the Dec. meeting for a drawing. The shop where we got the fabric didn't have any of the line I am using so I I picked out some more modern fabric that goes with it pretty well. I'll be anxious to see it when it is finished. Please don't ask for a picture because I have no idea how to get one on. My card(?) doesn't fit into my computer.

  7. #27
    Super Member cherrio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio, the land of 4 seasons. sometimes all in the same week! and very cold this very minute!
    Posts
    2,492
    I agree with you as well as with Jan. well said ladies

    Quote Originally Posted by margee View Post
    I like some of the new fabric and I'm really drawn to the so called modern look quilts using more solid space and less printed fabric.There's one hanging in my LQS now that I find stunning. What concerns me is so much solid space in one color to FMQ. But soon I'm going to try it.
    margaret
    You never stand taller than when you stoop to help a child.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    108
    DD & I were discussing this just this morning. We decided that we are just more traditional in our approach to quilting. We don't make the smaller wall hangings, table runners, etc - only full size quilts meant to be used (& sometimes abused). My main objection is that some of the colors are not ever found in nature - lol. I think a lot of these newer collections would be great in msaller items - something that you will quit using when you grow tired of it. I don't think they will have the "staying power" that some of the older fabrics have. I consider them more of a fad than a trend - just my opinion - but for those who love them "more power to you" - in quilting there truly is something for everyone.

    hugs
    Shirley in Indiana

  9. #29
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    3,023
    I buy what I like and enjoy. A lot of the new fabrics don't appeal to me so I don't have to spend money on them. As much fabric as I have, I really don't need to be buying much anyway. I usually head for the sale tables first and I'm more likely to find what I like/need there.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    306
    We have a small quilt shop in town that is real close to me but I rarely go there because all they carry are the modern fabrics. I'm more a repro, Kansas Troubles, batik sort of person.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.