Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 25 FirstFirst 1 2 3 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 247

Thread: Quilt Preview

  1. #11
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    6,617
    Blog Entries
    3
    That is one of the prettiest blocks I've seen! Nice job. The color copies are a great idea!

  2. #12
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Take a digital picture of the quilt and then in a word program place the block picture side by side to make quilt layout. You can put two small square mirrors together to make an image of four blocks together.

  3. #13
    Power Poster ann clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Navan. Co. Meath. Ireland
    Posts
    15,117
    I like it.

  4. #14
    Super Member jillaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California Girl exiled in DC
    Posts
    1,394
    Blog Entries
    1
    Photoshop, ladies... Here's what it's going to look like:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge,TN
    Posts
    841
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love this. I think it would make a beautiful quilt with only this block. Do you mind sharing what the name of this quilt is?

  6. #16
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,759
    That's a way cool block! The colors might be a bit bold but once you get the whole quilt finished the blue background will sort of calm it down.

  7. #17
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,027
    Beautiful block! :)

    Here's sort of what it might look like in straight sets:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #18
    Super Member jillaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California Girl exiled in DC
    Posts
    1,394
    Blog Entries
    1
    sorry... didn't line up "my" seams so well.... ;-)

  9. #19
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,303
    OK, I chopped of all your points because it wasn't a straight on picture. It wasn't personal.:wink:

    The block by itself is stunning. The colors might be off on my import of the picture. But this is quick and dirty in EQ.

    Hmmm, so, en masse, that's a lot of that background fabric. Isn't that weird how that works, because the block doesn't seem overpowered by it.

    But you had a sense. :thumbup: :thumbup:

    A couple of thoughts (which you didn't ask for)...

    These are part of Carol Doak's 50 FabStars, right? Great book. If you noticed, some of blocks have a slash of fabric in the corners (diagononally). I don't have the book in front of me, or the software loaded to check.

    But, maybe, if you did that, perhaps with the white, you could diffuse the blue fabric a bit. It really only needs to be about 1/2" wide. But then you'd have to match it up when you sew the blocks/rows together.

    I'd try cutting up some thin strips and lay it out on your color copies.

    How's it look?

  10. #20
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,303
    Wow, look how the different settings look!

    And it's really important how you end the block. On pollyparrot's blocks, I really see the blue fabric and it looks like there is a white pattern around it. You have to look deep into to see the stars.

    That is very cool.

    I like PollyParrot's the best - even though there is no star. Very cool setting.

Page 2 of 25 FirstFirst 1 2 3 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.