Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting Class >

Quilting Class

Quilting Class

Old 05-29-2011, 05:10 AM

A local community college has asked if I would like to teach a "quilting" class. I have been an adjunct teacher at this college for ten years, but this is the first time I will have taught and they will have offered anything related to "quilting." I think the marketing will be toward those who sew (and can bring a machine to class), but have never done any quilting. At a unrelated meeting last week, I may have met a potential student!!

I'm thinking of doing one evening class for two-three weeks and do a table runner or wall hanging.

Also, I have a lot (and I do mean a lot) of fat quarters and offering them for material so we won't waste any time getting started.

Have any of you taken or taught classes similar and have any pointers for me?
Old 05-29-2011, 05:13 AM

If you're going to be offering fabric, allow time for selection or you'll have people spending the whole class time period sorting through your fabric.

You could just offer kits.
Old 05-29-2011, 05:36 AM

Make sure you make a complete list of items they would need;
rotary cutter, cutting mat, scissors, rulers, sewing machine, etc., etc.,

I have been to classes that other people who are not prepared or not realize they needed a sewing machine (duh, a sewing class)

Question, is this suppose to be a 101 quilting class (for beginners) or will this be or a 201 class (some quilting knowledge and supplies). That will also make a difference in what directions you go. Most 101 students do not know what a rotary cutter is or how to work it and they might have a sewing machine but not know about 1/4" seam sewing or maybe not a 1/4 foot. Just food for thought
Old 05-29-2011, 05:39 AM