Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Skipping stitches

  1. #1
    Super Member Justquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,687
    Lately when I'm doing binding my machine is skipping stiches. I noticed it when I was sewing velcro but I thought it was the thread snagging & catching on it.
    I've tried changing needles & thread. I'm at a lost with this. I had it serviced a few months ago.
    Does anyone else have this problem & what is causing it???

  2. #2
    Member lorils's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cadott, WI
    Posts
    33
    Did you break a needle recently? YOur timing could be off. That can only be fixed by the repair man. Otherwise are you using a walking foot when attaching the binding?

  3. #3
    Senior Member crashnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, Missouri
    Posts
    560
    To avoid skipped stitches when sewing velcro I use a very small stitch length around 1.5

    If you are skipping stitches when putting on binding, are you getting the skipped stitches when going over seams? If so, then the seams are too thick or your needle is too small.

    Clean the bobbin area. Also, clean the bobbin casing you may have a bit of lint caught in the tension spring. Put a small drop of oil on your finger and rub the outside of the bobbin case.

    Clean the needle tensioner as well. Also, be sure you are threading your machine with the presser foot UP. To clean my tension disks I get a long piece of dental TAPE, unwaxed, tie knots along the length and run this through the disks.

    Hope this helps and keep us posted on your progress.

  4. #4
    Super Member Justquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,687
    Thanks for the tip on velcro. I'll try that next time.
    I thought it was cause of the thichness in places. But it only does it now & then. I tried a bigger needle. And oiling & cleaning.
    Thanks but I think it's going to have to go back to the repair man.
    My straight stitches don't look so straight either. Could my timing be off??

  5. #5
    camillacamilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cookeville, TN
    Posts
    145
    Whenever I have stitch prblems, it is one of two things....bobbin or not threaded right. Have you tried a different bobbin? Sometimes I need to clean the lint out and put in a new bobbin and it is fine. Also, sometimes rethreading the machine seems to work wonders. Not sure why, but these things usually fix any problems I have.

  6. #6
    Super Member Justquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,687
    Thank you..I'll give it a try. :-o

  7. #7
    Senior Member crashnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, Missouri
    Posts
    560
    Sometimes when you are not getting straight stitches (they appear to be at a bit if a slant) is an indication that your bobbin thread is too loose. But that wouldn't be the reason why you are getting skipped stitches.

    Are you sure you have your needle in correctly? The flat side of the needle goes to the back of the machine. Also, is the needle all the way up against the stop? When I put in a new needle I hold the needle cartridge under the needle point pushing up so I'm sure to get the needle in properly.

    Also, do you have the settings on your machine set correctly for a straight stitch?

    Good luck and I hope this helps. If you do take it back in for repair, please post what the problem was, we are all curious.

  8. #8
    Super Member Quiltgranny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Quiltsville
    Posts
    1,860
    Hi there,

    I just had the same problem a couple of days ago. I tried the usual suggestions, all given here - nothing worked. By the time I'd installed the third new needle and it still didn't work, I called my dealer. She asked me to turn my computerized machine off, unplug it, wait a minute or two then plug back in and turn back on. Kinda like rebooting a computer. Would you believe it WORKED!

    Why? She didn't know, said for some reason, "It just does." All be darned. If your machine is computerized, it might be worth a try. Best of luck to you.

  9. #9
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,703
    it's usually the basic things. the tension, the needle, the thread, the way it's threaded, the bobbin and/or case or the lint. after that the timing. hissssss.IF you have the manual, IF you have a handy fixer peron, then you can do it. i am able to do mine.

    guess why? you win!


    after that, it's service time. don'tcha just hate that?

  10. #10
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,888
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you cleaned the dust bunnies out lately!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.