Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Skipping stitches >

Skipping stitches

Skipping stitches

Old 03-23-2009, 06:59 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Justquilting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,653
Default

Lately when I'm doing binding my machine is skipping stiches. I noticed it when I was sewing velcro but I thought it was the thread snagging & catching on it.
I've tried changing needles & thread. I'm at a lost with this. I had it serviced a few months ago.
Does anyone else have this problem & what is causing it???
Justquilting is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 07:35 AM
  #2  
Member
 
lorils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cadott, WI
Posts: 31
Default

Did you break a needle recently? YOur timing could be off. That can only be fixed by the repair man. Otherwise are you using a walking foot when attaching the binding?
lorils is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 07:38 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
crashnquilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lebanon, Missouri
Posts: 602
Default

To avoid skipped stitches when sewing velcro I use a very small stitch length around 1.5

If you are skipping stitches when putting on binding, are you getting the skipped stitches when going over seams? If so, then the seams are too thick or your needle is too small.

Clean the bobbin area. Also, clean the bobbin casing you may have a bit of lint caught in the tension spring. Put a small drop of oil on your finger and rub the outside of the bobbin case.

Clean the needle tensioner as well. Also, be sure you are threading your machine with the presser foot UP. To clean my tension disks I get a long piece of dental TAPE, unwaxed, tie knots along the length and run this through the disks.

Hope this helps and keep us posted on your progress.
crashnquilt is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 07:54 AM
  #4  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Justquilting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,653
Default

Thanks for the tip on velcro. I'll try that next time.
I thought it was cause of the thichness in places. But it only does it now & then. I tried a bigger needle. And oiling & cleaning.
Thanks but I think it's going to have to go back to the repair man.
My straight stitches don't look so straight either. Could my timing be off??
Justquilting is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 10:32 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
camillacamilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 144
Default

Whenever I have stitch prblems, it is one of two things....bobbin or not threaded right. Have you tried a different bobbin? Sometimes I need to clean the lint out and put in a new bobbin and it is fine. Also, sometimes rethreading the machine seems to work wonders. Not sure why, but these things usually fix any problems I have.
camillacamilla is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 10:58 AM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Justquilting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,653
Default

Thank you..I'll give it a try. :-o
Justquilting is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 03:46 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
crashnquilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lebanon, Missouri
Posts: 602
Default

Sometimes when you are not getting straight stitches (they appear to be at a bit if a slant) is an indication that your bobbin thread is too loose. But that wouldn't be the reason why you are getting skipped stitches.

Are you sure you have your needle in correctly? The flat side of the needle goes to the back of the machine. Also, is the needle all the way up against the stop? When I put in a new needle I hold the needle cartridge under the needle point pushing up so I'm sure to get the needle in properly.

Also, do you have the settings on your machine set correctly for a straight stitch?

Good luck and I hope this helps. If you do take it back in for repair, please post what the problem was, we are all curious.
crashnquilt is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 07:55 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Quiltgranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,372
Default

Hi there,

I just had the same problem a couple of days ago. I tried the usual suggestions, all given here - nothing worked. By the time I'd installed the third new needle and it still didn't work, I called my dealer. She asked me to turn my computerized machine off, unplug it, wait a minute or two then plug back in and turn back on. Kinda like rebooting a computer. Would you believe it WORKED!

Why? She didn't know, said for some reason, "It just does." All be darned. If your machine is computerized, it might be worth a try. Best of luck to you.
Quiltgranny is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 08:05 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: currently central new jersey
Posts: 8,623
Default

it's usually the basic things. the tension, the needle, the thread, the way it's threaded, the bobbin and/or case or the lint. after that the timing. hissssss.IF you have the manual, IF you have a handy fixer peron, then you can do it. i am able to do mine.

guess why? you win!


after that, it's service time. don'tcha just hate that?
butterflywing is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 07:13 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ and CT
Posts: 4,899
Default

Have you cleaned the dust bunnies out lately!
JoanneS is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Rachelcb80
Main
89
08-25-2015 03:02 PM
aborning
Main
18
07-26-2013 01:30 AM
Raggiemom
Main
4
03-05-2011 08:46 AM
buslady
Main
18
12-11-2010 12:21 PM
ruthie
Pictures
8
03-30-2008 05:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter