Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: My Longarm is skipping stitches

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    879
    The past 2 weeks I quilted two quilts--but with frustration. I would be quilting and then get to a certain spot and it would start giving me long skipped stitches and then switch back to regular stitching. The skipped stitches occured only when moving in a horizontal direction. My husband looked at the cabling while I was quilting and watching the cords and moving them around and we got them placed to where it wouldn't do it. But every new time I go to use the machine, it does the same thing. Then I move around the cords until I get them placed in a position where it doesn't do that. Yesterday I spent 2 hours moving around the cords and quilting on practice material I had off to the side of the real quilt. I finally must have gotten the cords laying in a position where my stitching was working ok and it wasn't doing skipped stitches in a certain area, and I dared to start doing the real quilt. I just got this Tin Lizzie 18 LS right before Xmas and it didn't do this the first couple weeks when I was using practice material to learn my machine but now it has started doing this and today I did one pass on the quilt and then on the second row, it started doing it again and I can't seem to get the cable moved around correctly for it to work. The Dealer who sold me the longarm recently had the same problem and she said it may either be the Y cable connected to the stitch regulator sensors or it is the sensor that regulates the horizontal sewing. (That's what it was for her). She has ordered me new parts but now I need to wait a week for them to come. Has anyone else encountered this problem with the Tin Lizzie? And if you did, was it the sensor or cable connected to it? or was it something else? I a so frustrated and just want it fixed so I can Quilt! I would appreciate any suggestions anyone has the might fix this problem. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member MaryStoaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    3,925
    You might try quilting with the stitch length regulator turned off. The stitch length will be shorter or longer depending on how fast you move. I did and it made me a better quilter with more control. Keep you eye on the needle! At least you could quilt untill your new cords come.

  3. #3
    Super Member KathyAire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,414
    I don't know about a TinLizzie, but when my DSM skips stitches it is usually time to change the needle.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    294
    Sometimes you can get skipped stitches if your fabric is pulled too tight - try loosening it a bit and see if that helps.

  5. #5
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,170
    Blog Entries
    3
    i don't have a longarm, so this is a shot in the dark.

    your dealer is most likely on the right track.

    just in case, though, i thought it'd throw a tidbit into the mix.

    when my machine skips stitches while i'm working on a quilt sandwich, it nearly always means i need to switch to a bigger needle.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    642
    I just bought my own Tin Lizzie LS (used), and would hazard a guess that it's the encoders, especially since it happens only when moving horizontally. I know a lot of people have had encoder problems with the LS, and supposedly the DLS (latest Tin Lizzie) is supposed to resolve a lot of those problems -- but I can't afford to upgrade my machine right now.

    My circuit board was bad on my machine, and I got a new one within a week; all is good now, so hopefully the new parts will fix your problems!

  7. #7
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    when I first got my HQ i had that problem and was told to push down (or bend if needed) the wheel for the SR. DH helped me and no other problems in the last 3 years.

  8. #8
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    great ideas

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    879
    Quote Originally Posted by MaryStoaks
    You might try quilting with the stitch length regulator turned off. The stitch length will be shorter or longer depending on how fast you move. I did and it made me a better quilter with more control. Keep you eye on the needle! At least you could quilt untill your new cords come.
    i did finish the quilt that day using Manual mode. But I didn't like doing it that way. It seemed hard for me to concentrate on both getting the design perfect and concentrating the same time on trying to move the machien with a consistent speed for cosistent stitches. It did turn out ok but I will not do another quilt until the problem is solved. The Dealer had me switch the sensors around to see if the vertical stitch now switched --but it didn't --it still skipped on the horizontal. So he's thinking it it the Y cord that connects to the sensor . The cord is on order and hopefully that will solve the problem.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    879
    Quote Originally Posted by KathyAire
    I don't know about a TinLizzie, but when my DSM skips stitches it is usually time to change the needle.
    I changed the needle to a new needle right away to see if that was the problem--but unfortunately it wasn't.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    9
    I'm having the same problem with my Tin Lizzie. I bought it in May of 2010 and the longest it has ever worked at one time is three weeks. The dealer sends the repairman out and they replace the encoder and it works for a few days and does the same thing again. I have called the company and left messages for Greg the repairman there and for Ernie the owner and get a return call about every 5th message I leave. Ernie did call me back once and said he would send a part the next day but then the dealer called and said they wouldnn't replace that part. I usually have to wait 2 - 3 weeks for a service call as I have been told they're too busy to keep coming out - I live about 10 minutes from the store.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    879
    Quote Originally Posted by pat brundage
    I'm having the same problem with my Tin Lizzie. I bought it in May of 2010 and the longest it has ever worked at one time is three weeks. The dealer sends the repairman out and they replace the encoder and it works for a few days and does the same thing again. I have called the company and left messages for Greg the repairman there and for Ernie the owner and get a return call about every 5th message I leave. Ernie did call me back once and said he would send a part the next day but then the dealer called and said they wouldnn't replace that part. I usually have to wait 2 - 3 weeks for a service call as I have been told they're too busy to keep coming out - I live about 10 minutes from the store.





    Ugh!! I hope my Tin Lizzie doesn't have those same problems--with it only working a couple weeks at a time. If that happens, I won't be impressed! Although I am not doing a business so I won't be using it all the time. I am hoping to start doing some quilts --just by word of mouth- though. And no one in my Quilt Guild has a longarm so I am hoping to get some business from them. I am doing four "practice" quilts for my friend who is also in the Quilt Guild and I only have one left. The first three have turned out nicely (I have the fourth one loaded and ready to quilt), so I hope when she shows them at Quilt Guild and tells them that I quilted them, that my work on her quilts will prove my ability and generate some business from the ladies in my Guild. I also work full time so don't have alot of extra time so I would be happy with even 1-2 quilts a month to do for people. Hopefully my machine will stay running better than yours has.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    142
    I also have a Tin Lizzie, no problems. Do you use pantograms? Haven't tried them yet, but did just buy a laser light.

    When you want to do borders with a different design, do you do you do the top and bottom borders when you are doing the center, take it off the machine and put back on to do the two sides or what do you do? Haven't done it yet, just have been doing meandering. Thanks for any help.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    879
    Quote Originally Posted by janice1120
    I also have a Tin Lizzie, no problems. Do you use pantograms? Haven't tried them yet, but did just buy a laser light.

    When you want to do borders with a different design, do you do you do the top and bottom borders when you are doing the center, take it off the machine and put back on to do the two sides or what do you do? Haven't done it yet, just have been doing meandering. Thanks for any help.
    My Tin Lizzie has been working fine since getting new encoder on it.

    When I do borders in a separate design, I do them last. I quilt the rest of the quilt first and then go back and do the borders very last. I try to do them without taking the quilt off the frame to turn it. I have only done that once.

  15. #15
    Senior Member fromzstore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    High Point NC
    Posts
    689
    Blog Entries
    1
    i just recently got a pfaff grand quilter with a computer and right in the middle of my quilt i get long stitches found out the encoder was stopping in the middle for about 10 in and then starting to roll after that i have leveled everything nothing seems to help any ideas dont know if it is the frame or the encoder. seems like if it was the encoder it would not work anywhere . any suggestions

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    33
    It's probably me being new to frame quilting and I did something wrong but my Brother was skipping stiches at one end of my quilt and I discovered that my batting had a wrinkle in it. Smoothed it out and all was good. With the Grace frame I don't have to baste and the batting is on it's own roll.

  17. #17
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,750
    Yes, this. Also depending on your machine you might need to clean the bobbin area, put oil in the bobbin area and or tension disk , rethread all your thread top and bottom.

    Hmm reading the other post it seems tinlizzy might have some issues. No fun! I hope this is resolved quickly by your dealer.

    Quote Originally Posted by KathyAire View Post
    I don't know about a TinLizzie, but when my DSM skips stitches it is usually time to change the needle.
    Last edited by Annaquilts; 07-25-2013 at 03:45 PM.
    Anna Quilts

  18. #18
    Gay
    Gay is offline
    Senior Member Gay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    S.E. Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    627
    Blog Entries
    3
    Your problem is probably the weight of the encoders on the tracks, they do not press down hard enough. I bought a TL 18 few years ago and had the same happen to me. Sometimes the needle would stay down in the fabric for 5/6 stitches, and it took me nearly 3 yrs to find the cause and fix, both encoders were involved. I bought some mechano-like bits from the hardware store and attached to the back of the carriage, then wedged some styro chunks between that and the tops of the encoders. It has fixed my problem, maybe your DH can figure a better way, I had no-one. Even the shop I bought it from avoided admitting it was happening. I was sent new encoders, but the same applied. Have noticed recently [at the quilt shows] they have a new type of carriage and encoders, so they knew there was a problem.

    Hope this helps you, it nearly drove me nuts.

  19. #19
    Super Member petthefabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Eastern Madera County, Ca
    Posts
    1,043
    Sounds like you have a dealer who's trying to work with you. What a blessing. There's so many things to check and learning them all is easiest done with an expert.

    I have a Gammil, was having problems with breaking thread, the company worked with me until it was discovered that it wasn't getting enough oil. Simple fix.

    What Gay had to say was very interesting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.