Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: Spool of thread instead of a wound bobbin?

  1. #1
    Super Member JNCT14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CT New Haven County
    Posts
    1,026

    Spool of thread instead of a wound bobbin?

    Ok I am hoping that perhaps someone tried this. I am afraid to do it becasue I don't want to wreck my machine!
    I have a mid arm BabyLok Quilter's Pro which I love BUT - it does not have a light or indicator that shows when the bobbin thread runs out (which means of course that I end up with unsewn seams, grrrrrr).

    So i looked at where my bobbin goes and there is room to insert a spool of thread. If I did that and threaded the thread through the bobbin case, would the machine draw the thread from the spool?

    OR is there an adaptor that can be bought for the bobbin case that would take thread from a spool?

    If not, would that not be a wicked cool idea?

    I will be VERY interested in feedback!!

  2. #2
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,014
    VERY wicked-cool idea! Wish I could do that, with my regular sewing machine!
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    If there was a way for a spool of thread to fit a bobbin every sewer would know about it. LOL The only way to know is to try.
    Got fabric?

  4. #4
    Super Member jlm5419's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have often wished this were possible, but I don't think it would work. Larger bobbins would be nice though.

  5. #5
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,777
    Blog Entries
    2
    There was a machine out a couple of years ago that took a whole spool of thread rather than the bobbin. Wracking my brain trying to remember the name, seems to me it was a European brand... It was a sewing/embroidery unit and people were using it a lot for stand alone lace designs. The name will come to me at 2:00 AM, I'm sure!
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  6. #6
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    17,076
    I don't know what machine you have but on mine there is an opening in the top of the case that the needle goes down into and then the bobbin hook completes the stitch. I would think that the needle would hit the spool. The new Bernina 750 has a bobbin about twice the size of a regular bobbin. It is a nice machine but I just bought my 440 so no new machine in my future.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mom3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    suburb of Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    650
    About a century ago there was the "National Two Spools" machine. You can see an example of the 'spool bobbin' right here: National Two Spools CAN

  8. #8
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,014
    I wonder if there's a way you could have the spool outside the bobbin area BUT have it run to the bobbin, loop around maybe once, then travel along the prescribed course. It would continuously "feed" the bobbin but only with a loop, so that the thread would flow freely. I've no idea what that bobbin are looks like . . . but would this be possible?
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  9. #9
    Senior Member Scraplady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Birmingham, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    430
    Quote Originally Posted by Neesie View Post
    I wonder if there's a way you could have the spool outside the bobbin area BUT have it run to the bobbin, loop around maybe once, then travel along the prescribed course. It would continuously "feed" the bobbin but only with a loop, so that the thread would flow freely. I've no idea what that bobbin are looks like . . . but would this be possible?
    Don't see how this would work since the needle thread has to physically wrap all the way around the bobbin in order to form a stitch. But it's an interesting idea. Surely someone out there has that of this... The less time we spend changing bobbins, or saying naughty words b/c we ran out of bobbin threead 6 feet back, the better!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/makeminepatchwork
    "Piecin' a quilt's like livin' a life...The Lord sends us the pieces, but we can cut 'em out and put 'em together pretty much to suit ourselves, and there's a heap more in the cuttin' and the sewin' than there is in the caliker...I've had a heap of comfort all my life making quilts, and now in my old age I wouldn't take a fortune for them." (Eliza Calvert Hall, Aunt Jane of Kentucky)

  10. #10
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by Scraplady View Post
    Don't see how this would work since the needle thread has to physically wrap all the way around the bobbin in order to form a stitch. But it's an interesting idea. Surely someone out there has that of this... The less time we spend changing bobbins, or saying naughty words b/c we ran out of bobbin threead 6 feet back, the better!
    Yep, scraplady is right. The top thread comes down. The bobbin hook grabs it and wraps it around the entire bobbin in order to interlock the top and bottom threads. No way to do this with the spool outside the bobbin case. And you WILL break your machine (or at least your needle) if you try to stuff a spool in where the bobbin case goes. Note that the bobbin case is also responsible for tension - so without it you'd have a rats nest of thread after the first 2 stitches (if you got that far).

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.