Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 50

Thread: Spool of thread instead of a wound bobbin?

  1. #1
    Super Member JNCT14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CT New Haven County
    Posts
    1,495

    Spool of thread instead of a wound bobbin?

    Ok I am hoping that perhaps someone tried this. I am afraid to do it becasue I don't want to wreck my machine!
    I have a mid arm BabyLok Quilter's Pro which I love BUT - it does not have a light or indicator that shows when the bobbin thread runs out (which means of course that I end up with unsewn seams, grrrrrr).

    So i looked at where my bobbin goes and there is room to insert a spool of thread. If I did that and threaded the thread through the bobbin case, would the machine draw the thread from the spool?

    OR is there an adaptor that can be bought for the bobbin case that would take thread from a spool?

    If not, would that not be a wicked cool idea?

    I will be VERY interested in feedback!!

  2. #2
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    VERY wicked-cool idea! Wish I could do that, with my regular sewing machine!
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    If there was a way for a spool of thread to fit a bobbin every sewer would know about it. LOL The only way to know is to try.
    Got fabric?

  4. #4
    Super Member jlm5419's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    My Sewing Room
    Posts
    1,184
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have often wished this were possible, but I don't think it would work. Larger bobbins would be nice though.

  5. #5
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,460
    Blog Entries
    2
    There was a machine out a couple of years ago that took a whole spool of thread rather than the bobbin. Wracking my brain trying to remember the name, seems to me it was a European brand... It was a sewing/embroidery unit and people were using it a lot for stand alone lace designs. The name will come to me at 2:00 AM, I'm sure!
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  6. #6
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29,691
    I don't know what machine you have but on mine there is an opening in the top of the case that the needle goes down into and then the bobbin hook completes the stitch. I would think that the needle would hit the spool. The new Bernina 750 has a bobbin about twice the size of a regular bobbin. It is a nice machine but I just bought my 440 so no new machine in my future.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mom3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    suburb of Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    651
    About a century ago there was the "National Two Spools" machine. You can see an example of the 'spool bobbin' right here: http://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage...n-t179788.html

  8. #8
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    I wonder if there's a way you could have the spool outside the bobbin area BUT have it run to the bobbin, loop around maybe once, then travel along the prescribed course. It would continuously "feed" the bobbin but only with a loop, so that the thread would flow freely. I've no idea what that bobbin are looks like . . . but would this be possible?
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  9. #9
    Senior Member Scraplady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Birmingham, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    442
    Quote Originally Posted by Neesie View Post
    I wonder if there's a way you could have the spool outside the bobbin area BUT have it run to the bobbin, loop around maybe once, then travel along the prescribed course. It would continuously "feed" the bobbin but only with a loop, so that the thread would flow freely. I've no idea what that bobbin are looks like . . . but would this be possible?
    Don't see how this would work since the needle thread has to physically wrap all the way around the bobbin in order to form a stitch. But it's an interesting idea. Surely someone out there has that of this... The less time we spend changing bobbins, or saying naughty words b/c we ran out of bobbin threead 6 feet back, the better!
    www.makeminepatchwork.etsy.com
    www.zibbet.com/makeminepatchwork
    "Piecin' a quilt's like livin' a life...The Lord sends us the pieces, but we can cut 'em out and put 'em together pretty much to suit ourselves, and there's a heap more in the cuttin' and the sewin' than there is in the caliker...I've had a heap of comfort all my life making quilts, and now in my old age I wouldn't take a fortune for them." (Eliza Calvert Hall, Aunt Jane of Kentucky)

  10. #10
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    908
    Quote Originally Posted by Scraplady View Post
    Don't see how this would work since the needle thread has to physically wrap all the way around the bobbin in order to form a stitch. But it's an interesting idea. Surely someone out there has that of this... The less time we spend changing bobbins, or saying naughty words b/c we ran out of bobbin threead 6 feet back, the better!
    Yep, scraplady is right. The top thread comes down. The bobbin hook grabs it and wraps it around the entire bobbin in order to interlock the top and bottom threads. No way to do this with the spool outside the bobbin case. And you WILL break your machine (or at least your needle) if you try to stuff a spool in where the bobbin case goes. Note that the bobbin case is also responsible for tension - so without it you'd have a rats nest of thread after the first 2 stitches (if you got that far).

  11. #11
    Super Member JNCT14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CT New Haven County
    Posts
    1,495
    OK so hmmmm... I should have been more clear - the spool of thread stays outside the machine. I have a small extension that fits on the machine so in essense you lift the little door up, then there is a small area and you open the bobbin case door. So the idea like Neesie said would be to feed the thread from the spool into the bobbin case, perhaps keeping the bobbin itself in the case and wrapping the thread around the bobbin a few times. So instead of the bobbin thread just feeding the machine with the wound thread, it would actually pull the thread from the spool. I wonder if its worth asking BabyLok?

  12. #12
    Super Member JNCT14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CT New Haven County
    Posts
    1,495
    A serger sort of operates off the same concept but no bobbin hook.

  13. #13
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    908
    You still have the issue of how is the thread from the top needle passing around that "external" spool. If it doesn't pass all the way around the bobbin thread (or spool replacing the bobbin), you don't get a stitch.

    I can't draw worth beans, but have a look at this. Blue is top thread, red is bobbin. See how the top thread made a loop, passed around the bobbin, to end up as a small "tack" across the bobbin thread. Doesn't work if the loop can't pass around the entire spool. Second picture - green is your thread extending to a spool - it prevents the blue from looping around the bobbin.

    Name:  bobbin.jpg
Views: 481
Size:  4.7 KB
    Name:  bobbin2.jpg
Views: 456
Size:  5.3 KB

  14. #14
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,735
    Blog Entries
    5
    My Bernina 830 has a huge bobbin!!! And my machine tells me when it's at 20%. I love that part!
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    406
    Yes, why is it that we can put a man on the moon but we cannot make a simple attachment device to enable a sewing machine to use a spool on the bottom?!
    ~Laura

  16. #16
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    Well, phooey! What we need to do, is reinvent the sewing machine!
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  17. #17
    Super Member mermaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tennessee, UC area
    Posts
    1,067
    Would your manual not tell you if that could be done? "I feel your pain"..haha..cause my emb machine drove me nuts with the message that bobbin was low..yet when I ck'd it would be half full. I finally adjusted the bobbin case/laser and now it is only a couple of yards from being empty when the message comes up. Plus, I've discovered the prewound bobbins have LOTS more thread than our machines will wind!

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,598
    There was indeed a vintage machine that used a spool of thread in a can type holder underneath instead of a bobbin. Name- "Two Spools"! I think it was by National or Standard.

  19. #19
    Senior Member Patti25314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    threading a needle or pulling a weed
    Posts
    483
    If your machine will allow you to set this up, you could try it by moving the handwheel in the proper direction slowly to see what happens in a few stitches. That way, if it won't form the stitch or binds up the bobbin case, you should be able to stop and not cause any harm -- I think --- lol. I'm curious. So if you try this, please post an update -- with photo.

  20. #20
    Super Member newbee3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,857
    Blog Entries
    2
    I was even told if the bobbins are larger it might not work as well fmq

  21. #21
    Senior Member Mom3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    suburb of Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    651
    Well, if the National Two Spools (as I posted earlier) is not for you then there are the various vintage chain stitch machines which do not require a bobbin (like a Wilcox & Gibbs, Singer model 12 & various other vintage models) because they sew a chain stitch instead of a lock stitch.

    Go here: http://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage...t186496-5.html and check out the photos of the chain stitch made by my Wilcox & Gibbs.

    There are other various vintage machines like the Singer 630 which has a 'spider' attachment. In a 'spider' install, you remove your bobbin, insert a round plate in the bobbin area, add an additional thread guide - the only thread used is thread from your spool which then creates a chain stitch.

    Shari
    Last edited by Mom3; 11-07-2012 at 03:34 PM.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    If we can send a man to the moon, and a robot to Mars, surely there is a dedicated tinkerer out there who needs to make a kazillion bucks making something EACH AND EVERY ONE OF US WOULD BUY!!!!...isn't there? I think I'll talk to my OSMG and see what he thinks...
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  23. #23
    Senior Member Toni C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crosby,Texas
    Posts
    838
    Quote Originally Posted by Mom3 View Post
    Well, if the National Two Spools (as I posted earlier) is not for you then there are the various vintage chain stitch machines which do not require a bobbin (like a Wilcox & Gibbs, Singer model 12 & various other vintage models) because they sew a chain stitch instead of a lock stitch.
    Go here: http://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage...t186496-5.html and check out the photos of the chain stitch made by my Wilcox & Gibbs.
    Shari
    Ahh National Two Spool. My dream machine. Man Your W&G makes a fine chain! Congrats

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    325
    I have wondered for years why someone doesn't invent a machine that uses a spool of thread for the bobbin.

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Jeffersonville, In
    Posts
    2,181
    Every seamstress I know has wished for a bobbinless machine. I've always wondered why, given the explosion of technology, no one has invented one.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.