Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 78

Thread: What is your opinion of the quilt fabric from Walmart?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    78

    What is your opinion of the quilt fabric from Walmart?

    They have some pretty patterns, just wondering what the quality is like. Has anyone used theirs?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge,TN
    Posts
    841
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have found that most of Walmart's fabric is fine. Some of it is thin, but then again I bought some at a LQS and not only was it expensive, but also thin. So I learned that no matter where I buy it from that I have to pay attention to what I'm buying. I have noticed that a lot of what Walmart is getting in now is a lot nicer than in the past.
    ~Charlotte~
    This is the day that the Lord hath made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    673
    I have used some for doll quilts that the guild I belong to supports Head Start in our area. If I was making a keepsake quilt I don't believe I would use it. Great fabric is thick and soft. WalMart's fabric is really not the best fabric but if you are on a limited budget it would be fine. If you really want long wear and wash quilt I don't know that I would want to put a lot of time and work into something that might not last as long. Everyone has their own opinion. It is true that a lot of their fabric looks like others that cost more else where. Just my opinion.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    756
    Blog Entries
    1
    One way to figure this out....take a section of the fabric...hold it up to the light...see how closely the piece is woven. Take said piece and slide the surface against the sensitive side of your fingers to see how smooth it feels. Do this to many pieces of fabric in all sorts of stores..quilt stores,Walmart ,Jo Ann's. generally the better quality fabric is smooth to touch and tightly woven..I generally quilt with the best quality I can find that fits in my budget. I spend lots of hours and energy units on my projects,so I justify purchasing the more expensive,higher quality stuff. However, you can find great fabric for low cost at second hand type stores and garage sales.
    Life may not be the party we planned for,but while we are here we should dance!

  5. #5
    Super Member donnalynett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,318
    When they brought the fabric dept back to our WalMart they brought in a better quality. Just have to watch what you buy just like at JoAnn's.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mabank, Texas
    Posts
    6,806
    We do not have a LQS within about 20 miles of our town so our Walmart sometimes has a good selection of fabric by the yard as well as a good selection of fat quarters. However, when buying yardage, I do pay attention to what I'm buying as some of the fabric is of a lighter weight than I like to use for quilting.
    Fabric is like money, no matter how much you have it's never enough.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    183
    I have made one quilt with Wal-mart fabric. Bought the fabric 9 1/2 years ago when I didn't even know such a thing as quilt shops exsisted. It took me 4 years to get the quilt finished, so it has now been in use for 5 1/2 years on my DD's bed. She sleeps with it every night and it has had several washings and is still holding up well. I don't know that it would last 100 years or anything, but I didn't make it to last 100 years, I made it so my DD would have a cute, warm blanket lovingly made by mom to sleep with at night. I think it works well enough. If I saw some quitling fabric at Walmart that I just loved I wouldn't mind using it again.

  8. #8
    Senior Member sandilee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    st. louis area
    Posts
    967
    I shop there for fabric all the time. I have had no problems,,,,,,so far!

  9. #9
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    9,118
    some of it is ok- some not so much; I was taught a long time ago to buy the best you can afford for what ever you are buying. if walmart is what is available- and is what is within your budget then by all means- buy your fabric there. with time and experience you will learn (by look and touch) differences in fabrics and find what you like/want to work with. don't stress over where it comes from- great fabrics can be found at Goodwill too! just buy the best you can find, afford, like.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  10. #10
    Super Member Mitch's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,261
    I make all kids quilts with fabric from Walmart or novelty prints from JoAnn's and Hancock Fabrics. The quilts will end up being dragged around and leaked on. When they wear out it is usually time for a more mature print anyway. Not everything has to last forever; only long enough to bring some joy.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.