Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Who or what would you recommend?

Blog Entries

Who or what would you recommend?

I'm still fairly new to quilting ? I have done a few small projects for myself & family members, I am self taught but my points never match, I don't know how to square up a quilt, Etc, and not sure really what I'm really doing or how I'm doing things wrong. I have been watching YouTube videos and they have all been very helpful. But everyone seams to have a different way of doing things. I would like to learn from one instructor and once I get comfortable cutting & piecing get other suggestions that may make things easier & faster for me. My question to all of you out there who Or what you tube series would you suggest would help me with the basics of quilting?
    Thank you for any & all suggestions
    Sue

If you have a LQS, see if they have any classes. When I began a couple years ago, I took a set of classes to make a sampler. The instructor started with the basics and went on from there. She taught us how to square up (fabric and squares), the easiest way to match things up, how to make flying geese, the easiest way to make HST, etc. It was a great learning experience and I made great friends with the instructor and other classmates. We still meet twice a month to quilt (or talk, or both).

If you don't have a LQS nearby, Google quilting guilds in your area. Some of the members locally may teach or be able to point you in the right direction in your area.

I hope this helps you.
    Wendy in VA

If I had a dollar for every time I got distracted I wish I had some ice cream.