Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Your Opinions Please

  1. #1
    2livesdown7togo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    359
    This is a crib/children's quilt using primary colors, the idea was a bright top to mean "daytime" and dark blue backing with stars to indicate "nighttime". It's ready for border and/or binding.

    Originally I wanted to use the cloud fabric for the border and the dark blue for binding (option 1).

    The two could be reversed, with the plain dark blue fabric as a border and the cloud fabric for binding (option 2).

    Another option is to just bind it without a border using the cloud fabric (option 3).

    All opinions are welcome, I love the way you all make decisions.

    Closeup
    Name:  Attachment-115363.jpe
Views: 27
Size:  300.3 KB

    Not so closeup
    Name:  Attachment-115365.jpe
Views: 36
Size:  301.1 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member KathyAire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,410
    I definitely like a border. Either looks good, I guess I would choose the dark blue for the border. Is the clouds also going to be the backing. That would be nice.

    I really like the top. It's very cheerful.

  3. #3
    Super Member wanderingcreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,707
    I love your colors. I like the blue for the border and the clouds for the binding.

  4. #4
    Super Member luckylindy333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Snohomish, Washington
    Posts
    2,045
    I love your top, I like the dark blue for the border- I think the clouds for the back would be great. I think an orange binding (I am partial to orange and blue).

  5. #5
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,703
    i couldn't open this. it tried to open as 'image browser'. what is that?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    7,377
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK, here are your photos. I would save the cloud fabric for the backing. I don't think it goes well with the bright primary colors of the top (which is beautiful, BTW). I would use the dark blue for a border, or even some of the peacock fabric. Or use the peacock fabric for the binding. Good job!
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  7. #7
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,553
    Quote Originally Posted by 2livesdown7togo
    This is a crib/children's quilt using primary colors, the idea was a bright top to mean "daytime" and dark blue backing with stars to indicate "nighttime". It's ready for border and/or binding.

    Originally I wanted to use the cloud fabric for the border and the dark blue for binding (option 1).

    The two could be reversed, with the plain dark blue fabric as a border and the cloud fabric for binding (option 2).

    Another option is to just bind it without a border using the cloud fabric (option 3).

    All opinions are welcome, I love the way you all make decisions.
    I kinda like the idea of just the dark blue for the border/binding on the bright side. I wouldn't use the clouds.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5,841
    Blog Entries
    1
    i like the dark blue too..i don't care for the cloud fabric with the front colors you have now. i love primary colors for baby quilts. the colors and pattern you chose is perfect!

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,108
    Of those choices I would use the dark blue as binding....but if you have RED that would look great!(imho)

  10. #10
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    I like the dark blue as the border and you could even bind with it, but IMHO I would use the dark blue as he border and either use the orange or red as the binding. The clouds are a softer palette than the primaries used.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.