Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Your Opinions Please

  1. #1
    2livesdown7togo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    359
    This is a crib/children's quilt using primary colors, the idea was a bright top to mean "daytime" and dark blue backing with stars to indicate "nighttime". It's ready for border and/or binding.

    Originally I wanted to use the cloud fabric for the border and the dark blue for binding (option 1).

    The two could be reversed, with the plain dark blue fabric as a border and the cloud fabric for binding (option 2).

    Another option is to just bind it without a border using the cloud fabric (option 3).

    All opinions are welcome, I love the way you all make decisions.

    Closeup
    Name:  Attachment-115363.jpe
Views: 68
Size:  300.3 KB

    Not so closeup
    Name:  Attachment-115365.jpe
Views: 81
Size:  301.1 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member KathyAire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,414
    I definitely like a border. Either looks good, I guess I would choose the dark blue for the border. Is the clouds also going to be the backing. That would be nice.

    I really like the top. It's very cheerful.

  3. #3
    Super Member wanderingcreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,706
    I love your colors. I like the blue for the border and the clouds for the binding.

  4. #4
    Super Member luckylindy333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Snohomish, Washington
    Posts
    2,045
    I love your top, I like the dark blue for the border- I think the clouds for the back would be great. I think an orange binding (I am partial to orange and blue).

  5. #5
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    i couldn't open this. it tried to open as 'image browser'. what is that?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    7,302
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK, here are your photos. I would save the cloud fabric for the backing. I don't think it goes well with the bright primary colors of the top (which is beautiful, BTW). I would use the dark blue for a border, or even some of the peacock fabric. Or use the peacock fabric for the binding. Good job!
    Attached Images Attached Images


  7. #7
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6,763
    Quote Originally Posted by 2livesdown7togo
    This is a crib/children's quilt using primary colors, the idea was a bright top to mean "daytime" and dark blue backing with stars to indicate "nighttime". It's ready for border and/or binding.

    Originally I wanted to use the cloud fabric for the border and the dark blue for binding (option 1).

    The two could be reversed, with the plain dark blue fabric as a border and the cloud fabric for binding (option 2).

    Another option is to just bind it without a border using the cloud fabric (option 3).

    All opinions are welcome, I love the way you all make decisions.
    I kinda like the idea of just the dark blue for the border/binding on the bright side. I wouldn't use the clouds.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5,837
    Blog Entries
    1
    i like the dark blue too..i don't care for the cloud fabric with the front colors you have now. i love primary colors for baby quilts. the colors and pattern you chose is perfect!

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,107
    Of those choices I would use the dark blue as binding....but if you have RED that would look great!(imho)

  10. #10
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,955
    I like the dark blue as the border and you could even bind with it, but IMHO I would use the dark blue as he border and either use the orange or red as the binding. The clouds are a softer palette than the primaries used.

  11. #11
    Super Member Murphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    8,899
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like option 2 (IMHO)

  12. #12
    2livesdown7togo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    359
    Thank you all for your ideas and encouragement, and thank you to gaigai for correcting the display of my photos.

    I'm still mulling it over, but I will post the finished product when it's ready.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.