Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 45

Thread: Need your opinions please...

  1. #1
    Junior Member QuiltedComforts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spanaway, WA
    Posts
    188
    This is my first D9P and I was very happy with how it looked until I added the borders. I didn't have any fabric left from making the top, so I went and bought some, but I'm afraid it doesn't really blend well. This is going to be a Christmas gift for my in-laws, so I want to make sure it looks okay... the binding will be the same as inner border and the backing the same as outer border. Please let me know what you think.

    Thanks in advance!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Power Poster Lacelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12,323
    Blog Entries
    19
    Your green borders bring out the green in the small squares, it looks fine to me.

  3. #3
    Super Member Theresa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oregon City, OR
    Posts
    1,000
    A lovely quilt but I can understand your concern. I'd use a "pink" thread and stitch between the two greens to show more blending. Gosh, you may have already used some decorative stitch there. If so, perhaps some thin pink ribbon can be woven through the stitched area. Regardless, they will be delighted!

  4. #4
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    Very nice!

  5. #5
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,761
    Blog Entries
    17
    I think they will love it!

  6. #6
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the borders too :D:D:D

  7. #7
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,667
    Blog Entries
    194
    looks fine to me, thanks for sharing

  8. #8
    Super Member ranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Eastern Canada
    Posts
    3,613
    Blog Entries
    9
    From what I can see, it looks great. As Lacelady said, the green in the main area is brought out by the border fabric. Perhaps it would help if you posted a pic showing the full quilt.

  9. #9
    Super Member IBQUILTIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Fork Ca
    Posts
    8,257
    I agree with the rest. I am sure they will love it

  10. #10
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,531
    Blog Entries
    11
    Well all I can say is that if they don't love it, I surely would! So you can just send it on to me! LOL! Seriously, I think it is fine the way it is but if you did want to add some pink ribbon or stitching, that would be fine too!

  11. #11
    Senior Member sgardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    North Ogden, Utah
    Posts
    550
    I think it looks fine. Yes, it doesn't match exactly, but to be honest, it's not as if the colors clash or are too far off in shade/tonal value, so if you step away from it, it's still pleasing to the eye. That's what I see- something that is still pleasing to the eye.

  12. #12
    Super Member kwiltkrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Mapleton, Oregon
    Posts
    7,086
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think the borders look good. If you are still not satisfied with it, maybe you could do some raw-edge applique on it with some flowers that have the main color in it to make the border blend a little.

  13. #13
    Super Member deltadawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,811
    Great job.

  14. #14
    Senior Member sgardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    North Ogden, Utah
    Posts
    550
    Here's another thought too- if you had any of that dark pink left, consider hand stitching a few hearts or bows from that fabric in that area along that outside border- that would tie it all together and make it look like you chose border colors different "on purpose".

  15. #15
    Super Member Theresa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oregon City, OR
    Posts
    1,000
    Quote Originally Posted by sgardner
    Here's another thought too- if you had any of that dark pink left, consider hand stitching a few hearts or bows from that fabric in that area along that outside border- that would tie it all together and make it look like you chose border colors different "on purpose".
    Very nice idea!

  16. #16
    Super Member dellareya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    Posts
    1,588
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like the color of the borders. It look beautiful to me.

  17. #17
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    26,809
    Very nice!

  18. #18
    Super Member SuziC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,711
    Not to worry...they will love that quilt!

  19. #19
    Super Member Kitsapquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard WA
    Posts
    2,291
    What are you using for binding or is it already done? If you used one of the fabrics from the center of the quilt then it would all blend in together. I like it.

  20. #20
    Super Member bjchad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern New Jersey USA
    Posts
    1,348
    I guess I'm going to be the dissenting opinion here because I think you could do much better on the borders. Maybe it's my display but the borders look brown to me. I would prefer something more along the color lines of the light green squares for the inner border. With that the outer border might work better. Or something with more reddish coloring for the outer. These borders are adequate but I think it would " pop " more with different values ( even more than different colors) in the borders.

    Just my two cents. Interested in what others say.

  21. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    250
    I think it might be good that you ran out of fabric. You chose some nice fabrics to coordinate with it. I haven't made a D9P yet. You did a nice job on it.

  22. #22
    Senior Member trueimage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    714
    I like it. I wouldn't change a thing!

  23. #23
    Member Lisabet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Gympie, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    65
    Hi I like the choice of green

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like it.

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    14
    I would have liked to see the borders in the opposite places. The outer border looks like a transition strip that would take the flow from purple to green, then the more green to the outside. Just my opinion! And I can not see myself unsewing all that!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.