Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Need your opinions please

  1. #1
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    2,285
    I just finished quilting this lap quilt....a charity quilt for Riley's Hospital for Kids.....and want everyone's input....this is just a 10 minute block quilt, with a couple 3D pinwheels thrown in for texture.....I haven't done anything with the block centers (in stripes) and I know I don't want to fold them in so they curve (too girly) but was wondering if you ever just let them go loose and not sew them down at all? ...what will happen when it's washed?....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,450
    Blog Entries
    20
    Love the bright colors!

  3. #3
    Senior Member BeckyL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    941
    Sew Cute. I haven't made one of the 3 D pinwheels yet, so I don't think I am qualified to give an opinion.

  4. #4
    Super Member whinnytoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,245
    maybe quilt a small pinwheel in the centers? Depending on your batting, it should be ok as is for washing......dont you think?
    I love the bright colors!!

  5. #5
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,478
    I think it would be ok

  6. #6
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,478
    I think it would be ok

  7. #7
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,262
    I would leave them loose - just my opinion - by the way the quilt is adorable - I love the brights!!

  8. #8
    np3
    np3 is offline
    Power Poster np3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    14,032
    Blog Entries
    7
    I think it is okay the way it is,,,

  9. #9
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    What a bright and fun quilt! What child wouldn't smile over this quilt? :D:D:D

    You may want to check with the hospital regarding the pinwheels, and other aspects of a quilt that stick out or have pockets, and what their policies are.
    Some of the IV lines/medial equipment can get caught on them, and some hospitals ask that they be stitched down :wink:

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,295
    Blog Entries
    45
    great quilt. i wouldn't sew them down. imho, they should wash fine.

  11. #11
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,295
    Blog Entries
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by amma
    What a bright and fun quilt! What child wouldn't smile over this quilt? :D:D:D

    You may want to check with the hospital regarding the pinwheels, and other aspects of a quilt that stick out or have pockets, and what their policies are.
    Some of the IV lines/medial equipment can get caught on them, and some hospitals ask that they be stitched down :wink:
    but amma's suggestion is good :) :)

  12. #12
    bj
    bj is offline
    Super Member bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft. Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,569
    You might want to check with the hospital and make sure they won't create a problem with IV lines and such. Very cute quilt!

    Edit: sorry, Amma, you beat me to it :-D :-D

  13. #13
    Super Member Fabaddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,537
    if giving it to a small child, any places that fingers can catch is a huge NO NO.

  14. #14
    Senior Member lisalisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Queen of California Baby
    Posts
    514
    it's beautiful and thanks for auditioning that idea. I was thinking about doing it on my 10 minute block project but wasn't sure how it would turn out. FABULOUS!

  15. #15
    Super Member GABBYABBY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Camden, Ohio
    Posts
    1,429
    I think when it is washed because it is not sewn
    around all the edges, that it may wrinkle and may
    need pressing. But, I am just guessing at that.
    The quilt is beautiful and I love the pinwheels.

  16. #16
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,191
    Blog Entries
    9
    If I were recieving the quilt, I would prefer tbe strpped squares sewn down. Just my opinion

  17. #17
    Super Member leatheflea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    martinsville Indiana
    Posts
    4,476
    The pinwheels hold up fine when washed, just washed mine a couple of weeks ago. Oh I love the quilt, the pinwheels add a nice texture!

  18. #18
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    little pockets on childrens' quilts, especially in hospitals, are also crumb and dust collectors. they would need constant washing.
    stitching down wouldn't be a bad idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.