Where do I start?

Old 01-27-2014, 06:57 AM

Default Where do I start?

We have moved into a new house so I have a large bedroom for my craft room. I have enough things to have a sewing room and enough scrap booking things to have another room but I'm only allowed on room. Anyway I'm trying to figure out where to start first with organizing my room. The main thing I'm working on is organizing my sewing stuff. All my fabric is folded, put in a ziplock bag ( I don't completely close the bag) and I also put an index card in the bag which has who made the fabric, type, design, amount/yardage and where I purchased it from). I use paper clips to hang the bags on wire shelving. To store my fat quarters I use an over the door shoe holder with an index card also. My thread is hung on the wall. I have a wall used to display a quilt in progress using the fuzzy side of a vinyl table cloth.

Now the problem. What/how do I organize next? I'm rather overwhelmed and need some pointers. I am new to quilting so I'm always up for tips and suggestions.

I have a few pictures of my room just not sure how to upload them here so you guys can get an idea of what i'm working with.

Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated!!!
Old 01-27-2014, 07:15 AM
Power Poster

The first thing I would do before moving everything in, is paint if needed. After that I would buy a couple of the tall cupboards with doors and shelves. It is better to store things vertically in the room first before using up too much floor space. The cupboard units are not very expensive and it would give you one for your fabric and one for your scrapbook stuff. There are some great ideas in the organize section of QB for making your own cutting table out of bookshelves. Keep an eye out for pieces you can paint and re-purpose in your sewing room.
Old 01-27-2014, 07:24 AM
DJ