Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: First Quilt Top - Need advice

First Quilt Top - Need advice

I just finished piecing my very first quilt top. I used pre-cut squares (don't know the term...fat quarters maybe?) and put 2 borders on it. I'm self taught via You Tube and a Quilting 101 book...I'm looking for advice on how I should quilt the top. Keep in mind...I've never done this before. I don't have a walking foot for my machine either. I've seen "tied" quilts...but not sure about it. Any suggestions or advice is welcome.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Blog Entries
    pretty fabrics

Blog Entries
    Check out stitch in the ditch and free motion on you tube and see if you feel comfortable with either.

I would suggest some thing with some curves....
    practice on a scrap sandwhich
    hope this helps

Nice

Nice color choices. I am fairly new to quilting just a little over two years. With my first quilt tops I used large serpentine lines and as I practiced more got a little more adventurous. A walking foot would make it easier it helps to keep the quilt top, batting, and fabric back moving as one. But you can just use lots of safety pins to keep things smooth, drop the feed dogs on your machine and move the fabric manually. Squiggles are fairly easy, start in the middle and keep smoothing as you go. Practice first with scraps pinned with scrap batting in the center, sort of a mini quilt. This way you can see how your machine moves and it gives you a chance to experiment with style and stitch length. Hope this helps. I'm self taught as well, keep up the good work.

A medium meander might work very nicely. I quilted a lot of quilts on my domestic machine with just a hopping/free motion foot. Worked just fine for me.