Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Too many "Hitch hikers" on this board...

  1. #1
    T.
    T. is offline
    Senior Member T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    410

    Too many "Hitch hikers" on this board...

    I don't know if this happens to anyone else, but me ?
    Every time I visit this board, "hitch hikers" come along & plant those "pop-ups" that interfere with every other site that I go to. Proof is ONLY when I try to write a message while on this board, my key board skips letters or the space bar is not responsive. At first I thought it was because I type too fast (hardly possible); but it happens the entire time & only happens while I am on the board. I have only been on the board for a half an hour, only posted on reply to a message, and I am struggling writing this message. Although they may not be viruses, they definitely do something to my computer; I am struggling trying to write this message. For every 5 or 6 characters, I have to go back to either fill in a letter that got skipped or put in a space between two words. I had to stop & scanned my computer 3 times. The first time, 13 potential threats were removed, the second time,5; and I am now starting to scan again.
    Is there anything that can be done about this? I am goin to letyou ssee wattdoes withoutgoing bako correcti.
    Thankyou,

  2. #2
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    656
    Blog Entries
    3
    If you're using IE, click on compatibility mode, also click on the icon a/A in the row of icons. That will fix the typing problem. As for popups, good internet security is a must, there are many free ones, I think the one people here mostly recommend is Adblock.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  3. #3
    Senior Member jetayre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    893
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by mzzzquilts View Post
    If you're using IE, click on compatibility mode, also click on the icon a/A in the row of icons. That will fix the typing problem. As for popups, good internet security is a must, there are many free ones, I think the one people here mostly recommend is Adblock.
    What or were is the compatibility mode? I am having same problem.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MamaHen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    924
    I would leave the compatibility mode alone if this is the only site your having problems with. It could mess up your other sites if one doesn't know how it works. Just click on the a/A above to the left of your reply and you should be able to type fine. That's my suggestions because I messed with compatibility mode one time & had nothing but headaches.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Tall Corn State
    Posts
    915
    Yep - just had the computer Doctor at my house yesterday to remove tons of spyware/adware. Really have to be careful what you download. He said very common and the spyware is VERY cleaver on how they trick us in getting infected. Be careful out there -

  6. #6
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,881
    T. ..... the symptoms you have described happened to me.
    Solution ... switched from Internet Explorer to Chrome and like magic it was gone.
    At a later time, I went back to IE and guess what? same thing ... so back to Chrome I went.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    774
    Malware Bytes has a basic free download. I just downloaded it this week. I had 11,000 malware (ad hickies) on my computer. Cleaned them all up....took a long time, and you can't be using your computer while it is running, but it is amazing how fast my system is and no pop ups. BTW, to you have pop ups blocked on your computer?
    Go to Tools, there is a tab for Pop Up blocker, turn it on. Perhaps that will help.

  8. #8
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    656
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by jetayre View Post
    What or were is the compatibility mode? I am having same problem.
    It's in tools. If you have the toolbar showing file/edit/view/favorites/tools/help, click on tools and go down to view compatibility mode. If you don't have that toolbar showing, click on the "gear" icon and find it there. Changing the mode only affects the site that you're on when you click it, not all of them. That's what I did, so I didn't have to mess with the a/A icon each time.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  9. #9
    Junior Member crafty-kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Chisago City, Minne-snow-ta
    Posts
    167
    Funny that we all have the same issues. I'm there with you also!
    I tried the a/A button.....if that doesn't help I will switch to Chrome.
    -Teri from Minne-sn*w-ta

  10. #10
    Super Member Barb_MO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    2,209
    I have the same problem.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.