Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 90

Thread: Virus' have been found on your computer

  1. #11
    Super Member Amythyst02's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ.
    Posts
    1,355
    I got it yesterday as well. I just rebooted my computer to get rid of it.
    Amythyst

  2. #12
    QKO
    QKO is offline
    Super Member QKO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western Nevada
    Posts
    2,528
    Go to http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free/

    and get the free download and run it. This is a very reputable product, and will get rid of what ails your computer.

  3. #13
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    655
    Blog Entries
    3
    I agree with QKO! But make sure you download it BEFORE you have a problem, because most times, the virus will prevent you from getting the download. I've you've already got the virus, and you have two computers, you can download the program on the uninfected PC and use a thumb drive to transfer the needed files over to the infected PC. I did this for somebody this past weekend and have the link at home that gives all the information. Send me a message if I can help you further.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North Manchester, IN
    Posts
    141
    Several times in the past few days I have had my anti-virus program pop up that it has blocked a virus attempts while I have been on QB. Glad I have a good anti-virus program

  5. #15
    Senior Member Nan C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    707
    Glad I was not the only one that got it.......thanks for the info.
    If it wasn't for stress.......I wouldn't have any energy at all !!
    Nancy

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Duncan, AZ
    Posts
    115
    Yes. I also got it. I did a complete scan of my computer immediately using Norton. Supposedly everything harmful was removed. Took awhile to do the full scan but I just got this computer & didn't want to take any chances.

  7. #17
    Super Member Nelco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Springfield, OR
    Posts
    1,052
    I got hit with it and had to take my laptop to a friend and he fixed it for me. I am not going to open any more sites from here until I here it is taken care of.
    Nelda
    Become a Legend
    Be an Organ Doner

  8. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,081
    Quote Originally Posted by NJ Quilter View Post
    Might want to clean out the temp file on your computer also. Had this pop up from another site the other day and nothing would fix it. Couldn't get onto any other sites online either. Ran Norton and that didn't fix it. Finally cleaned out the temp file and problem solved.

    Thanks for posting this tip. I have had a crazy pop up, too. Had two unrecognizable temp files (that were just 2 days old) so deleted them.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    York, S C
    Posts
    156
    I also got the nasty virus, since i did not know enough of the do it your self stuff,Had to send it to the repair shop. Lost a lot of files, was expenesive to fix and now I'm trying to get things back to normal. I had mcafee security on it but that did not stop it. Hope I never have to deal with that again and neither do any of you.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North Manchester, IN
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by palmetto girl View Post
    I also got the nasty virus, since i did not know enough of the do it your self stuff,Had to send it to the repair shop. Lost a lot of files, was expenesive to fix and now I'm trying to get things back to normal. I had mcafee security on it but that did not stop it. Hope I never have to deal with that again and neither do any of you.
    I have an external hard drive I use to back up everything on my computer. So if I do ever have a problem I don't lose anything. I can just copy it back to my computer.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.