Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fleece as quilt backing? >

Fleece as quilt backing?

Fleece as quilt backing?

Old 11-06-2014, 09:34 AM

Default Fleece as quilt backing?

My son wants a warm, cozy couch quilt for Christmas. I am piecing the top in flannels and wondered about using fleece on the back. Is there one brand of fleece that works better for this type of thing? If so, where did you find it? Thank you for any help!
Old 11-06-2014, 09:39 AM
dd

I've used from Joann's and I've used from Walmart. Didn't have any trouble with either.
Old 11-06-2014, 09:47 AM

I had someone quilt for me last year. It was a cotton pieced top and a fleece back. She said the fleece stretched a lot. It was from Joann's. So be prepared for some stretching.
Old 11-06-2014, 09:55 AM

I am getting ready to back a pieced top with fleece. However I never quilt fleece. I tried it once and had a mess. ( I am not a pro so maybe it's just me). I will birth mine and tie it. I have done this before and it works fine. JMHO
Old 11-06-2014, 09:56 AM

I love fleece backing! I get mine at JoAnn's (I think it's currently 50% off. I use elmers to sandwich and have never had any problems with stretching. It's a lot more forgiving than regular cotton, so the back of the quilt looks great!
Old 11-06-2014, 10:15 AM

There's good fleece and there's bad fleece. The good fleece is thicker, with a gently stretch. The bad fleece is thin and is VERY stretchy. WalMart used to carry both but I've notice our locals WMs have started carrying much more of the bad kind.
Old 11-06-2014, 12:44 PM

When I used fleece for the backing of a quilt I made. I sprayed it with 505. No stretching of any kind. Worked perfectly.
Old 11-06-2014, 02:13 PM