Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Meet 'Charlee', a 1920 Singer 66-1 (Pic heavy)

Meet 'Charlee', a 1920 Singer 66-1 (Pic heavy)

Hello all,
    I'm fairly new to the QB but have joined two swaps already-Monthy Quilt Block and Quilt for Quilters swap. I would like to comment on one thing that stands out to me -folks are very friendly and willing to help out the new-comers, either that, you all have a blast watching us 'new kids' with our learning curves <bg>.

Dh and I love to haunt the local antique malls for a hobby. Last week we spied two machines that piqued my interest and I knew just where to go for information. Having been a visitor to the Vintage Machines forum, I knew who I wanted to turn to for guidance, someone knowledgable and fun. So I shot off an e-mail to Charlee asking if she would help me regarding evaluating the machines and reliable resources that I could learn from - and she did. Fast forward.

I made the decision to go for the 66-1. It called to me. DH goes to pick her up and I wait at home for what seems an eternity. When eventually he turns the corner to come up the drive I spy not one, but TWO machines in the bed of the p-up! Nope, you'll have to wait to find out what the other one is :-)

Since last Wednesday I have been steadily working on bringing back some of her luster. I lovingly tease her cabinet falls under 'Section 8' housing, but really, it's not too bad. Don't get me wrong, it's not great and dh is going to give it a go with some glue and clamps. She wasn't horribly dirty or gunked up -Thanks Muv! Your tut on You Tube was a huge confidence booster!. We need to get a belt and bobbin ring, other than that, she's good to go. I'm giddy with excitement to hear her purr. I absolutely enjoyed every minute of working her over.