Opinions, please!

Old 09-24-2012, 05:45 PM

Default Opinions, please!

I got my grandmother's (as best as I can tell, 1900 Singer model 28) treadle machine. Her name is Elizabeth and her serial # is N1516432. Her decals are pretty much shot-she's a sphinx- and her paint is pitted on the bed. Should I try to get new decals, sand her off and put a coat of black paint on her, or should I paint her a pretty color and paint her with beautiful roses???? I'm planning on using her and I'm not interested in her value. What do y'all think?
Old 09-24-2012, 06:58 PM
Power Poster

I am not an expert but if I was going to use her, I would just give her a good polish or wax and use her as is. That way she's still in original condition but the wax would protect her and your fabric. Hopefully one of experts will chime in with some advice.
Old 09-24-2012, 07:17 PM

It's your machine. If you want to repaint it, please take a picture of her current look to commemorate the hours of sewing done on it. Loved machines quite often are 'used' looking. Pristine machines may not have had the luxury of being well loved. Personally, I can see black with pretty roses, but a bright color and roses might be a little much for a full sized dignified machine, IMO. Again, it's your machine. Do what makes you smile after you photograph her.

Now I'm ducking - this may not be the popular opinion.
Old 09-25-2012, 07:37 AM

I agree with Irishrose. It is your sewing machine to do with as you want. A pretty color with pretty roses decals would be awesome in my opinion.
Old 09-25-2012, 12:57 PM

If it were my grandmothers I would just take some sewing machine oil on a soft cloth and go over it to preserve what grandma left after sewing so much on it. But then I'm really sentimental. Your a lucky girl. Hope you have many happy hours sewing on it no matter what you decide to do. Enjoy!
Old 09-25-2012, 05:11 PM