35mm slides

Old 03-14-2011, 04:06 PM
  #1  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,388
Default

I had boxes of 35mm slides we took over two decades ago when on trips. I finally bought an Ion 2pc slide and film scanner. i put only 63 photos from slides onto my computer today. many more to go.
I'm not putting pics of flowers, and trees, etc. lots of those. anyway, i got mine on Amazon. twenty dollars cheaper than best buy was.
it took me a bit to get it loaded and working but I did it.

me at Great Sand Dunes in Colorado early 80's
[ATTACH=CONFIG]169909[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-169904.jpe  
nativetexan is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:53 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW Iowa
Posts: 32,856
Default

What a cool pic. I love the scenery. So striking.
littlehud is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:17 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
thimblebug6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 7,586
Default

Neat idea, I ended up throwing alot of mine away as DH wasn't interested in "life before" hehehe....
thimblebug6000 is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:24 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Kappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,284
Default

Originally Posted by nativetexan
I had boxes of 35mm slides we took over two decades ago when on trips. I finally bought an Ion 2pc slide and film scanner. i put only 63 photos from slides onto my computer today. many more to go.
I'm not putting pics of flowers, and trees, etc. lots of those. anyway, i got mine on Amazon. twenty dollars cheaper than best buy was.
it took me a bit to get it loaded and working but I did it.
Not sure how to phrase the question so it makes sense, but how many pixels per slide picture and how big do they scan out to, are you able to enlarge to an 8 x10 without being grainy....I have slides also and have been thinking about but have not done anything yet. Are you pleased with your results, are you able to get rid of scratches etc.?
Kappy is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 07:37 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,388
Default

the photos scanned in quite large into the photoimpressions 6 that came with the scanner. i opened them again in windows live and edited them down in size.
i changed what showed as 100 percent, down 50 and then again down 50. then usually down 70 percent again.
this pic i did down to 55.7kb which shows 454x294 pixels and dimension.
i always make pics smaller so i can email or post them.
here is one of my son when younger.
i haven't played with this a lot. just got it today.

65.3kb @Red Rocks Theatre
[ATTACH=CONFIG]170011[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-169997.jpe   attachment-170006.jpe  
nativetexan is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 07:40 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
cla8655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dunlap, tn
Posts: 320
Default

beautiful picture for a quilt
cla8655 is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 07:56 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 104
Default

I scanned my in-laws slides and then copied them to cd's for them. It took a while but it was fun seeing them "back then".
I only did the ones with people in them. Was fun being able to improve on the pictures. I just wish that my MIL had kept the negatives. My Mom did and they were much easier and faster to scan.
jljquilter is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:19 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Kappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,284
Default

Originally Posted by jljquilter
I scanned my in-laws slides and then copied them to cd's for them. It took a while but it was fun seeing them "back then".
I only did the ones with people in them. Was fun being able to improve on the pictures. I just wish that my MIL had kept the negatives. My Mom did and they were much easier and faster to scan.
What is the name of the scanner you used if I may ask? I'm presently shopping around and it's nice to know what people have used and how they like it, before I take the plunge and buy one.
Kappy is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:23 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
ptquilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 6,751
Default

I use an older HP Scanjet 4370 with a TMA - scans paper and film, $30 on ebay used.
I have a large collection of slides going back to the 40's - if anyone wants to throw theirs out, throw them my way, I will gladly pay postage!!
ptquilts is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:44 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Kappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,284
Default

Originally Posted by ptquilts
I use an older HP Scanjet 4370 with a TMA - scans paper and film, $30 on ebay used.
I have a large collection of slides going back to the 40's - if anyone wants to throw theirs out, throw them my way, I will gladly pay postage!!
Thanks.
Kappy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PensyDutch
Main
6
11-05-2012 03:15 PM
ccthomas
Links and Resources
4
02-20-2012 10:35 AM
SandraQuilts
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
44
10-29-2011 07:20 AM
butterflywing
Links and Resources
12
05-30-2011 08:41 PM
cakes quilts
Main
9
03-31-2011 04:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter