Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Computer Question- My tower is clicking at me!

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,768
    Blog Entries
    50
    Every few minutes about 10 or so my tower clicks 8 times. Is this something to be worried about? I have never heard it before and I have had my comp since May 06.
    It is annoying but I am also a bit concerned.

  2. #2
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    i would be concerned as well hope it is not anything

  3. #3
    Super Member AgapeStitches's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Gastonia, NC
    Posts
    1,092
    Blog Entries
    7
    You need to call some one about that beep/click...it is a code for something...can't remember what off hte top of my head, but call the geek squad or some other computer repair person. Hopefully it will be nothing, but it could be serious if left uncecked...computers cost too much to replace often.

  4. #4
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    My tower clicks frequently. It always has. We always just laugh and say "The computer is thinking too hard." It was at the doctor only a month ago for more memory and such, so I figure it will be OK.

  5. #5
    Super Member suezquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cashton WI
    Posts
    1,149
    Check to see if you need to vaccuum the fan area. I have had trouble with that before.
    Sue

  6. #6
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Festus, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,552
    Do you have a cd or floppy in it? It will autoscan every so often to see if new media has been inserted. Watch it and see if any of the lights blink when you hear the ticking sound.

    Another possibility is the hard drive--the actual device inside of the tower where your data is. Some hard drives tick all the time and it's ok but if it didn't tick before and now it does--back up anything you don't want to lose and take it in for repair.

  7. #7
    Super Member great aunt jacqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    new hampshire
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by suezquilts
    Check to see if you need to vaccuum the fan area. I have had trouble with that before.
    Sue
    this would be my thought as well, The back is easily removed. Or just use a vacuum or dustbuster near the fan. dont blow into it learned a lesson there.

  8. #8
    Super Member earlylace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northwest, NJ
    Posts
    1,558
    it could be the fan, clogged with dust bunnies!

  9. #9
    Super Member Kappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,283
    Blog Entries
    38
    Back up your hard drive to an external hard drive or a cd or something. You just never know and better safe than sorry. Especially if you have pictures stored on it. Considering it has a pattern to it's clicking I think it's trying to tell you something...LOL..unfortunately if your like me you don't speek "geek", so call someone or take it in for a check up. My comptuer is a 2004, so I feel like I'm always working on borrowed time!....hope it hangs in there for ya.

  10. #10
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,768
    Blog Entries
    50
    Thanks everyone. I will try to clean it out and will call Staples. I have taken it there to be looked at not too long ago. It seems to have stopped clicking I think or I got busy and didn't notice it any more. I do want to see if they can tell me what they think it is. Thanks for all the suggestions!

  11. #11
    Moderator Up North's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North East Lower peninsula of Michigan
    Posts
    6,502
    Mine was ticking and there was a wire rubbing on the fan blade. just moved the wire and all is well hope it is a simple fix!

  12. #12
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,341
    A dusting will more than likely take care of the problem.

  13. #13
    The Creative Seamstress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    388
    As there are so many possibilities here as to what it could be, it's probably best to take it in to get looked at. You might want to check out which store if any is running one of their free computer diagnostic checks (i.e. Best Buy, Office Depot, Staples, etc) so you can save $35-60 on the fee. You might even be able to find a coupon off the internet. Gotta save where you can - and hopefully it's nothing too serious. You'd rather spend that money on more fabric - not a new computer! ;)

    Explosive blessings, abundance and inspiration to you all!
    - The Creative Seamstress

  14. #14
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,768
    Blog Entries
    50
    Well it's not clicking anymore so I've no idea.

  15. #15
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,768
    Blog Entries
    50
    I called Staples this morning and explained the clicking. He advised me to back it up and get ready for the worst! Not what I wanted to hear!!! LOL But I had already backed most of it up so I just need to make sure I have anything new on the new ebook I am working on and the Sampler Quilt files saved. I would hate to lose those. Otherwise I am in pretty good shape with backing my files up.

    I do need to figure out if I can save my emails on a flash drive as I have several that I need the pics in them and other info. Or I may have to download all the stuff I was saving that way and then put it on a flash drive. I am learning!! LOL

  16. #16
    Super Member AgapeStitches's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Gastonia, NC
    Posts
    1,092
    Blog Entries
    7
    download to dvd-r if you can they hold lots more info and they will be handy if you need to add more later and for retreiving to restore if the worst happens.

    I can resend pics if I need to later.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.