Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Cracked corn vs whole feed corn

Blog Entries

Cracked corn vs whole feed corn

I'm new to the quilting board and I'm sure someone can help me out with this. I'm in the process of making heating pads/cooling pads as Christmas gifts for the elderly. By mistake I purchased a 50# bag of cracked corn and not feed corn. Could someone please tell me why I shouldn't use the cracked corn. Tried finding something out about it on the internet with no success. If I can't use it I'll give it to my daughter for her chickens and head for the feed store. Looking forward to your responses. Thank you.

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by gjc2001 View Post
    I'm new to the quilting board and I'm sure someone can help me out with this. I'm in the process of making heating pads/cooling pads as Christmas gifts for the elderly. By mistake I purchased a 50# bag of cracked corn and not feed corn. Could someone please tell me why I shouldn't use the cracked corn. Tried finding something out about it on the internet with no success. If I can't use it I'll give it to my daughter for her chickens and head for the feed store. Looking forward to your responses. Thank you.
    I have never made those but I used to buy a lot of feed corn. I would think the cracked corn might let more heat go through. Just a guess. Good luck.

I'm guessing here, but I would think the cracked corn would create "dust" that would leak thru the bag. Whole corn, while not entirely clean wouldn't be dusty. I'd let the chickens have it.

the cracked corn would be more comfortable than nubs of whole corn.
    I use rice in mine.
    I don't use quilters cotton though, I use washcloths.