Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Embroidery Machine?

Embroidery Machine?

I have resisted buying an embroidery machine because I doubt that I would use it enough to justify the extra expense of a dedicated machine. But yesterday I made the "mistake" of watching a show on embroidery on plain tees. It looked so neat and of course easy, according to the teacher. Now I'm thinking, maybe? Either talk me down or ideas of a not too expensive easy machine please! I'm not very good at figuring out complicated computer concepts. Thanks.

Blog Entries
    if you are not very good at figuring out complicated computer concept, I recommend you pass at this hobby. Computer interfacing is a big part of the fun of this activity.

If you use the preloaded designs, and follow the owner's manual, it's easier. One step at a time.....I'm on the learning curve too, and I've done a few quilt labels and a couple of small tote bags.
    A husband is the perfect confidant to tell your secrets to - he can't reveal them to anyone else because he wasn't really listening when you told him!

Yes a dedicated embroidery machine is great! (at first) You think of tons of things too embroider. If you get a "single needle" machine, after a while you get fed up with having to do several thread color changes. Then you want to do an embroidery but you don't have the right stabilizer, so that project either gets put on the shelf or goes without embroidery. Then you think "I will embroider my quilts" Yep, wonderful idea, but then you realize that after the embroidery is done, you don't like how the back side looks.

Please don't think I'm trying to rain on your parade. You just really need to give this A LOT of thought.