Hello

Old 12-07-2006, 06:24 AM

I am new to chat rooms and message boards. Have been quilting and sewing sence I was a child. I am always looking for new ideas for gifts and small crafts. I am not long on patience. No one in my family sews or quilts but me, however they all love what I do. I have one grandaughter and she is some what interested but lives at what has become a treck form my house and I do not see her enough. The boys are not interested or too young for this work. I am a nurse and until recently worked full time. now am looking for some other $ making endevor. I am on and off line throught the day , would like to make new friends.
Old 12-07-2006, 02:20 PM

HI QUILTNURSE! Glad to meet you. I am Nancy, a baker/ bakery/mangr. I love my job, am always very busy. Have two sons married, with 3 grandbabies. Started quilting in Jan. '06 when my youngest son was deployed to Afghanistan......a stress reducer :roll: Yeah right! hope to chat w/ you sometime........we working gals need to meet new friends! Blessings......Nancy
Old 12-08-2006, 05:30 AM

Hi Nancy.I can get lost and never leave my sewing room so I know what a stress releaver it is. I am not a perfectionest so I make the peices fit and then worry about squaring them later.
As a bakery mgt you must work nites, I had a job in a family backery when I was a kid and I rember the nites they spent in the kitchen, worse than a resterant.
What kinds of quilts do you like to make? and do you quilt by hand? I use a mechine all the time. I think that if those pioneer woman had had a machine no hand quilt would have ever been made. Time was of the essence for them too. but then you do not need good lite to do hand work in seems, I worked in a nursing home and a bilnd woman made quuilts for her whole family never saw a thing. they were scrappy, her daughter cut them and then she sewed them together. I was so impressed.
look forward to hearing from you soon. Daphne Quiltnurse
Old 12-08-2006, 11:36 AM