Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
new on sewing need advice on machine >

new on sewing need advice on machine

new on sewing need advice on machine

Old 03-02-2014, 08:27 AM

Default new on sewing need advice on machine

hi everyone, im new to quilting and sewing. Im thinking of buying a sewing machine at amazon.com

any suggestions which one is good for a beginner like me?

Thx

</pre>
Old 03-02-2014, 09:19 AM

Welcome from the Adirondack Mountains of northern NY state! I'm afraid I'm not knowledgeable enough to give you suggestions on a machine. After using Singer for many years, I finally got a Bernina and I love it. I only wish I'd gotten it sooner. It is a basic machine but very sturdy and durable. Singer is not the same as it used to be and they make some very "cheap" models. By cheap I mean both in price and in parts. They just don't hold up like they did years ago. The one good thing about Amazon is the reviews. By reading them, you may find some help. Also, look for other reviews on line.
Old 03-02-2014, 09:45 AM

Hard question! I'm always scared to buy big ticket or working things without seeing them work. I had 2 singers from 1970 and 1985 - only because I wanted the newer options, I loved them both, still have and use 1. But then I got a Baby Lock - which sews and embroiders - love it. I would suggest you go try the machine you are thinking of buying then shop price.
Old 03-02-2014, 09:53 AM