Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Why FW? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/why-fw-t79222.html)

luvnquilt 11-28-2010 08:43 AM

Hi, I'm fairly new to quilting, and am having a blast. I'm currently working on my first 2 quilts for my kids so lots of leeway! My question is what is so special about featherweights? I inherited one several years ago from my great-aunt. It was made in 1939 and that's all I know about it. I actually don't even know if it works... I guess I should find out.

amma 11-28-2010 08:45 AM

Hello and Welcome to the board :D:D:D

They are a nice, light weight machine that sew beautifully :D:D:D

Sadiemae 11-28-2010 08:46 AM

Hello, and welcome from Idaho!

I can't answer your question, but if go to the search tab at the top of the page you will find many posts about them.

Quilting Di 11-28-2010 08:47 AM

Welcome from NE Indiana :thumbup: I've asked myself that question several times. They are cute, but I'll take my modern "do everything" machines anyday.

quiltsRfun 11-28-2010 08:58 AM

Originally Posted by luvnquilt
I inherited one several years ago from my great-aunt. It was made in 1939 and that's all I know about it. I actually don't even know if it works... I guess I should find out.

Lucky you! You should give it a try. That might answer your question.

leaha 11-28-2010 09:05 AM

They are so cute, and very light weight so easy to take to classes, bees or guild or to retreats. They are supposed to make a really great streight stitch. and they are so cute! They are easy to take care of also with out having to take them in to shop and pay $50. or more each time to be serviced. Billy has a whole tut on how to care for our machines, I will be really looking into doing the care of my FW, but want to know how to do it properly. So will be checking out Billy's thread.