Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bernina BSR-help, please >

Bernina BSR-help, please

Bernina BSR-help, please

Old 05-05-2012, 04:39 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 442
Default Bernina BSR-help, please

I have read so many glowing reviews of the BSR but when I use it, i don't see any difference with or without. At one point, I put it on and out-line quilted some smallish designs and thought it was pretty good but then I realized it was not engaged! I tend to get very small stitches when trying to follow a design line. I have used it in both mode 1 and mode 2 with the same results. I set speed at slow to medium for this. I wonder if the BSR is really meant more for large meander/stipple stitches? I guess I'm wondering if it is me or the device..perhaps it is not working correctly? Is there a way for me to know?
mea12 is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 04:52 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
alleyoop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,356
Default

All I can tell you is that I was having problems with it too and found out it was "OE" (operator error!). I didn't press the BSR button on my machine! When I use it on my machine to do meandering stitches they don't come out uniform, so I've been told to use it in BSR #2 mode. Also, I slow my machine way done to almost as slow as it can go. If your stitches are too close, you are moving too slow - if they are too big, you are moving too quickly. And practice, practice, practice! Hope this helps!
alleyoop1 is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 05:33 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 357
Default

You will have more control if you have it in Mode 2, which you have to set each time you turn on the machine. You will know it is in mode 2 as the machine will not stich untill you start moving the fabric. My suggestion is to stop what you are doing and sit down and read the manual again on where it talks about the BSR I find when I am frustrated with something on my new Berniana, that if I take and read the manual I will usually find one little thing that I was not doing. I have been quilting with a BSR for years, and I would be lost without it. Good luck
SuzieQuilts is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 06:09 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 37,224
Default

When you get your machine all set up and press the BSR 1, did the red light come on under the BSR foot?(I can't get used to BSR 2) If the light doesn't come on, it is not working. The BSR is made to work when it reads the fabric moving under it. I set mine on a medium speed and find that I still need to use my FMQ skills to get a good consistant stitch. Mine does prevent the micro stitches I used to get with FMQ which was what I wanted. I still get the occasional bigger stitch which I fix by hand. It might also be helpful if the bell is engaged on your machine for a while that tells you when you are not moving the fabric so it can read it. My dealer turned mine off for me because I find it too distracting.
With all that being said, I find it more difficult to try to follow a stitching pattern or applique shape rather than FMQ stipple or meandering.
Tartan is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 07:00 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
An Arm Long's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Maryland's Eastern Shore
Posts: 223
Default

Yes, as Tartan said, the BSR is designed to read the fabric as it moves. I found that when I used the clear foot attachment it would slowly get covered with lint and that the BSR could not read the fabric. I had to keep it dusted if I used that attachment.
An Arm Long is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:28 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 442
Default

Ok, maybe i just expected too much from the BSR bc i thought the one thing it did was to keep the stitch length consistent no matter how fast or slow you move the fabric. The first time I used it, i had not touched the BSR button but now I know to do that. Mode 2 is ok but it is harder to tie off...i feel more comfortable with mode 1. I wondered if it needed to be calibrated or some other thing done before it would work but it sounds like I may need to just try it on larger open areas vs small intricate shapes. I played with it quite a lot and was actually thinking of selling it but I will give it yet another go because so many people say they would not be without it. What am I missing! Tartan, I didn't know about the bell. I will turn mine on to see if it helps somehow. I bought my machine from a dealer closing and got no lessons not even a demo but the price made up for both.

Last edited by mea12; 05-05-2012 at 02:48 PM.
mea12 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Stitchensu
Main
5
12-30-2017 06:30 PM
Sailorwoman
Main
16
05-26-2014 05:43 AM
Reb
Main
12
07-09-2013 02:24 PM
azwendyg
Main
35
10-16-2011 04:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.