Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Best Applique instruction book for a beginner

Best Applique instruction book for a beginner

I'm just starting to learn about applique.....any suggestions for a good instruction book? Name and author would be helpful. Many thanks, Julie

Blog Entries
    http://www.amazon.com/Applique-Basic...words=applique

Wonderful book. You can get a used one reasonably prices on Amazon.

"Applique the Basics and Beyond: The Complete Guide to Successful Machine and Hand Techniques" by Janet Pittman

"I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Blog Entries
    Are you more interested in hand applique or machine applique? I taught myself machine applique using Harriet Hargrave's book. It has wonderful detailed explanations and photos. Here is a link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Mach...dp/157120136X/

If you are thinking of trying needle turn applique, I learned from Dierdra McElroy. She published the book That Invisible Stitch. She has really wonderful information about how to clip curves, turn the fabric under & smoothing the edge of the applique -- plus the basics about taking applique stitches and whatnot.

Blog Entries
    Learn Applique the Piece of Cake Way; Becky Goldsmith from Piece Of Cake Quilts
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

Wool Applique the Piece of Cake Way -- would that be a good book if I can't get the one you mention?

Blog Entries
    Wool applique is a raw-edge technique that does not work for quilting fabrics, so it would not be a good substitute (unless you are only interested in wool applique).

There seem to be several versions of the Piece o Cake book. Here is a link to them on Amazon: