Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: janome sewing machine skipping stitches.

  1. #1
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78

    janome sewing machine skipping stitches.

    my janome 1600p is skipping stitches and breaking threads. i tested it before i put the and it was fine. what makes this happen when i put a quilt on? I have picked out stitches until i am ready to give up. any ideas would be appreciated. I have changed the needle cleaned the feed dogs loosened the thread tension nothing works . this quilt is a Christmas present, looks like it may not get finished. My husband says get rid of the machine but i think it is probably a tension problem and i will be first to say i don't know much about getting good tension.

  2. #2
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sounds like the wrong type of needle to me. I would try a jeans or a topstitch needle. What are you using?
    It also could be too much drag on the quilt sandwich. Make sure you it is supported and not pulling in any direction when under the foot.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  3. #3
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    12,061
    Blog Entries
    1
    Could be a thread problem, change thread and try again. Not all machines like every thread. When I've tried everything else often I find a thread change fixes the problems. ( sometimes I think, why didn't I try that first?)
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  4. #4
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78
    I am using a Schmetz HL High Speed needle as was recommended by Janome Dealer.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Beautiful BC
    Posts
    1,861
    Blog Entries
    1
    What size needle are you using? You may need a larger one.
    Attending University. I will graduate a year after my son and year before my daughter.

  6. #6
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Tx.
    Posts
    15,971
    Blog Entries
    3
    i would say drag and pull on quilt needs to be distributed better.

  7. #7
    Super Member notmorecraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    east kilbride Scotland
    Posts
    1,323
    I find it better to use same thread top and bottom, change needle as maybe a burr on needle, if you are FMQ have you loosened your tension?

  8. #8
    Super Member Girlfriend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    1,176
    Try zig zagging, and if it doesn't pick up on one side, the timing is out, and will need to go to the repair shop. Good luck!
    Creative clutter is better than idle neatness.

  9. #9
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,953
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nanatoone View Post
    I am using a Schmetz HL High Speed needle as was recommended by Janome Dealer.
    What size? Size is as important as type, especially with FMQ.

    Edit: Also, the type of thread you are using can determine what size needle you need. What thread are you using in top and bobbin?

    Edit 2: A common cause of this problem is also having a tiny piece of lint or thread stuck in the upper tension discs. You can "floss" your discs with multiple strands of thread between your hands, or by using *unwaxed* dental floss.
    Last edited by Prism99; 12-11-2015 at 01:16 PM.

  10. #10
    Super Member KalamaQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    SW Washington USA
    Posts
    3,370
    Quote Originally Posted by Nanatoone View Post
    my janome 1600p is skipping stitches and breaking threads. i tested it before i put the and it was fine My husband says get rid of the machine but i think it is probably a tension problem and i will be first to say i don't know much about getting good tension.
    get rid of a 1000.00 dollar machine? Tell him to bite his tongue. hard

    How long has it been since you've had it serviced? The new machines are really finely machined, and lint gets everywhere we can't. all the ideas above are good. Please come back and tell us what worked!

  11. #11
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78
    I use isocord thread. Have been using it for a couple years with no problems until lately. Last quilt broke threads really bad so i made a large piece of fabric with backing batting and used the fabric for top. i ran the machine fast and slow . made circles on fabric .It didn't miss a stitch or break a thread . sewed a beautiful stitch I have changed needle twice cleaned machine. It was serviced about three months ago. i also loosened the tension on the top thread.

  12. #12
    Super Member carslo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    soCal
    Posts
    1,526
    Blog Entries
    5
    I use a size 18 needle for FMQ and I try to use a finer thread in the bobbin. For me this combination has produced the best results for me. Thicker threads on the top will cause skipped stitches for me on curves so I do not buy them anymore. Good luck!
    A bed without a quilt is like the night sky without stars.

    http://californiaquilting.blogspot.com/

  13. #13
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,105
    Blog Entries
    1
    clean it out good every time before you start 'quilting'. and use the same thread top and bottom. I was having trouble one time, and changed needles, and ran the thread thru both loops of first top, tall, silver thread guide. must have been holding my mouth right then, because it started working..
    But #1......clean it good before you start quilting a quilt......

  14. #14
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78
    my needle is a Schmetz HLx5 high speed. that is all it says on the package.

  15. #15
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78
    i am doing a pantograph on a little Grace 2 frame.

  16. #16
    Super Member quiltedsunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,306
    Ah ha! If you're on a Little Gracie frame, is your fabric stretched too tight? You don't want it to be a trampoline. And is the quilt surface level instead of angled? I agree with the others about using a larger needle. Below where it says Schmetz HLx5, it should say a size like 80/12 or 90/14 or 100/16. You probably want the 100/16.

    The zig-zag test is a great way to test if the timing is off.

    Good Luck with your quilting!
    Last edited by quiltedsunshine; 12-11-2015 at 09:27 PM. Reason: left something out...
    Annette in Utah

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,439
    Skipped stitches means the threads are not locking...bobbin and spool thread. This is usually caused by the needle not matching your thread.....always use a 90/14 top stitch needle when quilting. The larger eye allows the thread and needle to get down to the bobbin thread easier...thus no skipping. Let us know what works for you, there are a lot of Janome owners out there. I have five.

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,002
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ckcowl View Post
    Could be a thread problem, change thread and try again. Not all machines like every thread. When I've tried everything else often I find a thread change fixes the problems. ( sometimes I think, why didn't I try that first?)
    I agree. This week I wanted to sew on my red eye Singer, threaded it with Superior thread and all I could get were nests on the back side. Tried setting the tension and several other options. I know that when I last sewed on it, it worked fine. Finally I put the Connecting Thread back in and it sewed great. Certain machines like certain threads. Made a believer out of me.Sharon
    In my dream world, fabric is free and sewing makes you thin.

    Sharon

  19. #19
    Super Member citruscountyquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hernando FL
    Posts
    1,639
    I had this problem with my Janome and it was most frustrating. What it turned out to be was the fabric/needle combination. I was sewing with batiks and there was one blue batik where this was happening. I changed my needle to a sharp so that it was piercing the fabric better - prior was using a universal which had a duller point - and that took care of the problem. Because of that I rarely use universal needles anymore and just stick with a topstitch or sharp which both have a sharper point. Top stitch has a larger eye on it.
    I also occasionally have skipped stitches when I am sewing over bulky seams too. Look to see if there is any pattern to where the skipped stitches are. A particular fabric, seam etc. That might help narrow down the problem

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Broadway, Shenandoah Valley, VA
    Posts
    476
    I'd make sure you're threading the machine properly per the book.
    Hello from Shenandoah Valley, VA. Quilting a few years. Love the process of creating the quilt top, but don't like making the sandwich of top, batting and backing as much. We have two Labrador Retrievers, a yellow and a chocolate. Blessings to all!

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1
    I, too had this problem with my Janome 7700 Memory Craft. After multiple cleanings and needle changes I learned that 'thread delivery' played a key part in even and unbroken stitches. If your spool is stack wound, it must stand upright so thread comes off the spool horizontally, preventing twists. It simply unwinds. If the thread is cross-wound on the spool, it should deliver off the end of the spool. My machine has the capability of both deliveries. I simply use the bobbin spindle for stand-wound spools. There are several different spool holder stands on the market that can help this issue too. Also, some threads have a very slippery surface. Increase top tension for these. Hope this helps.

  22. #22
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,953
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nanatoone View Post
    i am doing a pantograph on a little Grace 2 frame.
    Have you used this machine on a frame before? Because frame quilting requires different tension settings from sit-down quilting. If you have not yet tried it, I recommend following the instructions in this Jamie Wallen Youtube video (applies to domestic machines as well as longarms when frame quilting):
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1mRhcquZTM

  23. #23
    Super Member Krisb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs
    Posts
    1,389
    Blog Entries
    29
    I don't have any suggestions not listed above, except to try using a thread stand and/or thread net. My Janome 1600p has another funny little quirk. If I hit the gas too hard when beginning, the thread can jump out of the thread path, wrap around the guide between the tension discs and the take up lever the wrong way, and break--hard. It broke a titanium needle a while ago.
    I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it difficult to plan the day.

    Kris

  24. #24
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    78
    yes i have always used this frame.

  25. #25
    Senior Member aeble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, ON Canada
    Posts
    536
    I had a similar issue with my Janome 7700. I was using old thread and and universal needle on batiques, that was my issue. So I would say:

    1) Try a needle from a different pack incase it was a quality control issue on the run of needles.
    2) Try a different thread
    3) If you have leftover fabric, put together a little practice sandwich and see if you are having the same issue. If you don't, compare what is different between the two.

    Hope that helps. I know these issues can be so frustrating when you are on a deadline.
    "If you have built castles in the air, your work will not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them." --Henry David Thoreau

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.