Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sewing machine skipping stitches

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    79

    Sewing machine skipping stitches

    Happy Friday to all!

    I was looking forward to getting some sewing done this weekend but now I'm not so sure... I bought a Janome 8900 about six months ago and am superhappy with some features of it but am having issues with the machine skipping stitches. :-( Initially it happened mostly when going over seams, it's really sensitive to changes in thickness. But now it happens even when there are just two layers of fabric, no pins, no seams to go over. Apart from the obvious rethreading, I have tried adjusting the tension, changing the needle, switching to a different bobbin, switching out the thread altogether but nothing seems to help - I'm at a loss! Has anyone experienced something similar and if so, how did you get it resolved? My last resort will be to take it back to the dealer but I really want to sew this weekend so hoping there's a fix I can do myself... Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    4,957
    Call your dealer - I'm betting they can solve your problem over the phone. Make sure you match your needle size to your thread size. That is critical for my machine.

  3. #3
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,955
    Blog Entries
    1
    I wonder if the needle is seated correctly. If it's not pushed all the way up, you can get skipped stitches.

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    34,879
    Was it new or refurbished? It sounds like you have tried all the obvious fixes... A new machine should not skip unless you hit something to knock the timing off. Do you remember breaking a needle or hitting a pin? Sometimes that could do it and it means a trip to the repairman. When my timing was off it was skipping stitches occasionally on straight sewing but wouldn't work well on zig zag or FMQ at all. Try some of the fancy stitches and see if they sew well.

  5. #5
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16,195
    Quote Originally Posted by MiaA View Post
    .... changing the needle ....
    Looks like you've tried most of the regular things.
    Not sure what "changing the needle" means to you ... try different sizes and types of needles (not just a new needle of the same as you've been using (and yes, you may have already done so)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

  6. #6
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,806
    My Janome 6600 will skip stitches (1 here ... then sew great for 6", then skip another - and so on) when there is a small bit of thread or lint somewhere in the bobbin area.

    Take the bobbin and bobbin race out and give the whole thing a thorough cleaning.

    Sometimes I'll leave the bobbin race out, thread my needle and rotate my fly-wheel to make a "stitch" (without bobbin thread). The act of the top thread moving through the machine and around the bobbin sometimes catches unseen bits of thread/lint etc.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  7. #7
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,498
    Mine had been sewing perfectly then started acting up something fierce. Tried all the obvious as you have done, then tried them again, then fiddled around with making extra sure there wasn't something caught in the bobbin/ feed dog area. Finally out popped a tiny bit of a broken needle. So keep at it!

  8. #8
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    18,396
    Blog Entries
    2
    My Janome MC4800 has always skipped one stitch when doing Blanket stitches. last night it really did it and I gave up and cleaned it. Fuzz all under the bobbin. So a good clean might help but other than that, you may have to ask your Dealer.
    "From hence only infer that an Englishman, of all men, ought not to despise foreigners as such and I think the inference is just, since what they are today, we were yesterday, and tomorrow they will be like us"
    Daniel De Foe -The True Englishman

  9. #9
    Senior Member Mrs B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    507
    Blog Entries
    7
    When ever that happens to me it usually means the machine needs a good clean and oil.
    Mrs B There is nothing that can't be improved with gold glitter


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    BC. Canada
    Posts
    65
    Agree with DogHouseMom, that worked on my janome, unscrewing the plate and getting all the fluff out with the little brush. Hope you find an answer soon, so frustrating ....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.