Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Quilting machine skipping stitches

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    717

    Quilting machine skipping stitches

    I have a Husqvarna Viking MegaQuilter and it's skipping stitches big time. I have a QBot computerized quilting program installed and I have checked that the sensors are touching correctly and the rails are free of lint. It is oiled and ready to sew except the skipping issue.
    Does anyone have suggestions as to why it is skipping. BTW it skips mostly when making curves.

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    S. Texas
    Posts
    2,338
    Often times its a needle problem. Not in correctly- not up high enough or in backwards.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    717
    Quote Originally Posted by mucky View Post
    Often times its a needle problem. Not in correctly- not up high enough or in backwards.
    I thought of the needle and have put in three new needles. I have checked and double checked the needle direction. I have it up as high as it will go. I may try to lower it a bit and see if that makes a difference. I started quilting my kaleidoscope quilt today and quit after just one pass. Now it' seam ripper time..uggggg!!!

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  4. #4
    Super Member Ruby the Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Far Far West Texas
    Posts
    1,399
    Blog Entries
    1
    You might try a different bobbin. Sometimes a nick or if they aren't as round it makes a difference. Check tension also.
    Quilting in the Desert

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    717
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruby the Quilter View Post
    You might try a different bobbin. Sometimes a nick or if they aren't as round it makes a difference. Check tension also.
    Been there ....done that

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  6. #6
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,564
    If you have checked the needle, it could be either the bobbin or the timing. You could completely un-thread the machine, remove the bobbin and clean out the bobbin area, re-thread the bobbin, check the bobbin tension and put it back in, re-thread the top thread and try it again. Could your machine require oiling? If all that does not work, it could be the timing. Do you have directions for timing your machine?
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Super Member knlsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West central Illinois
    Posts
    2,966
    Skips will also happen if your quilt is pulled too tight on the frame. I have a habit of doing this once in awhile and as soon as I loosen it a bit all is well.

  8. #8
    Super Member wesing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    2,296
    Another thing to check is the height of the quilt in relation to the bed of the machine. You should be able to slide your fingers between the quilt on the take-up rail and the machine bed. If it's too low or high you will get broken thread and/or skipped stitches. The quilt needs a bit of bounce in it. I usually move my take-up rail every other row or at most every third row. Good luck.

    Darren

  9. #9
    Super Member leatheflea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    martinsville Indiana
    Posts
    4,479
    I had a simular issue recently and my needle was barely touching the plate. And then once I had a burr on my hook.

  10. #10
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    Can someone else watch the wheels when you do a curve? I have this machine and it LOVES to sew straight lines, but on curves I need to go much slower. The wheels don't seem to engage well on curves. With practice I got the hang of it, but can't seem to do small, fine work like micro stippling. Frame seem too stiff for that. I rarely use my Qbot, the only reason I have it is it came bundled with the machine.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,929
    it is usually the speed that causes skipped stitches.....going faster that the shuttle can make the stitch....especially on curves.....slow down just a bit and see if that helps........

  12. #12
    Senior Member Chester the bunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    958
    The last time this happened with my frame and machine (different than yours) there was something wrong with the FMQ foot. It was totally worn out. Check to see if the foot has any "give" sideways. As well if you have a thread stand, lower it to about 1" above the spool.
    Hope this helps.

    Carole

  13. #13
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    717
    Thanks for all the suggestions. I think part my problem was that I had my take-up rail too high, because as mentioned, my thread was breaking. Another thing I discovered was that one of my sensors had gotten loose. I want you to know I went through all of your suggestion other than re-winding the bobbin. Don't know which tip worked but something did and my kaleidoscope quilt is on it's way to being quilted.

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,304
    Nope, not a needle problem, but probably a PRESSURE FOOT BARR problem. My machine only skips stitches going around curves when the pressure foot isn't low enough. What happens is when you are going around the curve if the fabric isn't stabilized with the pressure foot the needle is pulled away from the bobbin hook resulting in skipped stitches. The pressure foot bar needs to be only a credit card thickness away from the feed dog (I know you don't have any) are of the machine when the pressure foot is in the down position. It doesn't matter what type of foot you have they are adjusted the same. Every time I change my pressure foot I have to readjust my bar...

    Good luck!

  15. #15
    Member SillyStitcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Sturgis, MI
    Posts
    51
    Blog Entries
    1
    I had that problem with my voyager 17. It could be the sensors on the carriage are not making full connection with the rails. My big stitches were happening when I was in the process of a curve or side to side motion. I had to take the machine off the carriage and adjust the springs so the rollers made better contact with the rails and under carriage. Haven't had a problem since.

  16. #16
    Senior Member sylviak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southern Oklahoma
    Posts
    956
    I'm in the middle of that problem now. The side to side goes slow and makes BIG STITCHES. But only with my SLR on! So, I was in the middle of a graduation quilt, so I just turned off the SLR until I finish the quilt. THEN I will have to get my DH to help me lift that Voyager off the frame and take a look at the back sensors! I'm doing a panto, so I just slowed my speed control down and my stitches are actually pretty even without the SLR. Quilt height on the take-up bar can mess you up. If mine gets too high, my needle will drag on a fluffy quilt (which all my DGKs love). I check mine on every pass.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.