Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: My machine is skipping stitches even after changing needle 2 times--what else ??

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    The California Hills
    Posts
    626

    My machine is skipping stitches even after changing needle 2 times--what else ??

    A month ago, after using a needle from a new pack for several weeks, my machine started skipping stitches. I changed needles and it worked fine for about a month. Then, today it started skipping stitches again so I changed needles. Well, it started skipping stitches again after only a few minutes. I rethreaded the top thread and exchanged bobbins as well to see if that helped. Nope, still skipping a stitch every 2o to 30 stitches maybe. If I sew really slow, it didn't skip stitches during the past maybe 3 feet of sewing but I don't think that is a "fix".

    What should I be checking or changing? All of these needles come from a new pack I purchased in August --Schmetz Microtex Sharp 70/10. I'm using them for a combination of batik and 100% cotton piecing. Maybe the pack is defective? I don't have any other Sharp needles I can try and that is what I've been told to use on batiks.

  2. #2
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,194
    Blog Entries
    1
    you've mentioned changing needles...but when did you clean under the bobbin area last?
    quite often a piece of lint can cause all kinds of frustration...take the bobbin & case out - give the machine a good cleaning- then rethread- put the bobbin back in & see if that helps. it is recommended to clean at each bobbin change but i know people forget sometimes until they start to have problems..also make sure you are not turning the needle in the wrong direction when putting it in- sometimes having one backwards will do that too.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Clayton, Indiana
    Posts
    240
    I would also try different thread in the top and bobbin.
    DonnaR
    Grammy to Isaiah and Ruth

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    The California Hills
    Posts
    626
    The first time it started skipping stitches a month ago, I had just cleaned the bobbin area. So that wasn't it that time. Just now, I took out the bobbin and there was a good layer of lint on most sufaces down there. I cleaned it so hopefully that helps. I have to do some washing and pressing before I can continue so I won't know if it helped until tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Super Member hikingquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,131
    Be sure that the thread in the top and bobbin are the same weight/thickness.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,582
    Blog Entries
    3
    Isn't that a tiny needle? Someone on here said the bottom number is the one u use. You are using a 10 if that is right.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    The California Hills
    Posts
    626
    I am thinking maybe I need to be using a larger needle for the type of thread I'm using (Connecting Threads cotton thread). The smaller needle was recommended for the batik.

  8. #8
    Super Member Deborahlees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wine Country-Southern California
    Posts
    1,455
    I agree I think a 70 is way too small. First try a 80 and see what happens then try a 90. Superior thread recommends a Topstitch (bigger eye) 90 for sewing.
    Yes that is a real picture of my hometown Temecula, California. We feature premiere Wineries, World Class Golf Courses, Pechanga Indian Casino and Hot Air Balloons

  9. #9
    Super Member dglvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    3,997
    Great advice. Good luck. I had I this problem awhile back too. I changed everything and haven't had any problems since.
    Kim

  10. #10
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,464
    Blog Entries
    2
    Also, make sure that the needle is inserted all the way up the shaft. If it's not all the way in, it will skip stitches, although it probably would have done so from the get go. Just another thing to check.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  11. #11
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    28,590
    I think you need a 12 or 14 needle, I'm not sure what the larger number would be. I started sewing back around 1960 and the needle sizes have changed. I now use what manufacturer says to use.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  12. #12
    Super Member margecam52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Littlefield, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,088
    What is the brand of sewing machine you are using? Is it a home machine or Longarm? If a home machine, I agree, clean out the bobbin area...use a small brush and clean it out. Check your manual on how to do this.
    Marge

    Quote Originally Posted by AngelinaMaria View Post
    A month ago, after using a needle from a new pack for several weeks, my machine started skipping stitches. I changed needles and it worked fine for about a month. Then, today it started skipping stitches again so I changed needles. Well, it started skipping stitches again after only a few minutes. I rethreaded the top thread and exchanged bobbins as well to see if that helped. Nope, still skipping a stitch every 2o to 30 stitches maybe. If I sew really slow, it didn't skip stitches during the past maybe 3 feet of sewing but I don't think that is a "fix".

    What should I be checking or changing? All of these needles come from a new pack I purchased in August --Schmetz Microtex Sharp 70/10. I'm using them for a combination of batik and 100% cotton piecing. Maybe the pack is defective? I don't have any other Sharp needles I can try and that is what I've been told to use on batiks.
    Marge Campbell
    TL18LS/Qbot automated quilter
    http://www.Lmcampbel.com

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Orbiting
    Posts
    1,442
    Mine will skip stitches if I don't have the right size needle for the type of fabric/thickness I'm sewing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.