Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Best machine for piecing and embroidery >

Best machine for piecing and embroidery

Best machine for piecing and embroidery

Old 08-11-2016, 07:46 AM

Question Best machine for piecing and embroidery

I am interested in a sewing machine that will be good for accurate piecing with an embroidery unit. I am looking at the Viking Ruby and the Bernina 580. I really like the accuracy of the Bernina for piecing but am wondering which has the most user friendly embroidery unit/program since I am a beginner. I would love to hear from anyone who has experience with either or both of these machines.
Old 08-11-2016, 08:25 AM
Power Poster

I really is up to you what your preferences are. Put both machines thru what you want to have your machine do. I have a Bernina 1530 bought with the open box policy at a quilt show and she has been so good to me thru the years without a problem.
Old 08-11-2016, 08:48 AM

I agree with Maniac, you need to try both machines and check them out in person to see which one works better for you. Do you have both Viking and Bernina dealers nearby for classes and any repairs?
Old 08-11-2016, 10:44 AM

I have the Ruby and I love her, also got a Juki which I love, decide what features suit you best, try out different machines and find one you love x
Old 08-11-2016, 11:05 AM

Truly is a personal choice. I have not tried the Bernina

For what it is worth i got a HViking T50 over a year ago and love it for piecing and embroidery
I was new to embroidery and found their software user friendly I've gotten my $'s worth
Old 08-11-2016, 12:57 PM

If this is a used Ruby, you may want to ask a few questions first. I have had two friends just lately with a Ruby machine that have had the computer circuit board malfunction and they have been told that there are no available replacement parts (we are in Canada). These were expensive machines and are only 5 or 5 years old so this is not good.
Old 08-11-2016, 01:06 PM